Shoutbox

Help - Plugin Forms - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Forum: Plug-Ins (/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+------ Thread: Help - Plugin Forms (/showthread.php?tid=31119)

Help - Plugin Forms by michael_m91 on 09-08-2004 at 03:00 AM

If you have things like Stuffplug NG, when you choose configure it brings up a form.

How can i do this?

I'm using VB.

I tried diplaying a form by doing this

form1.show


The message that came up when i tried this said "Sorry this command is either not recognized or an error occured during it's processing. If the message is not supposed to be a command, please put a doubble '//' at the begginng.



Alright Anwser Found.

If your trying to implement a form into a plugin you need to make it and then type this when you want to use it.

form1.show vbmodal, screen.activeform

"form1" is replaced by the name of the form, by default the name is form1.

Note this is all with VB
RE: Help - Plugin Forms by matty on 09-08-2004 at 04:50 AM

To make all what is above more understanding.

In Visual Basic and creating Plugins

code:
Form1.Show
isn't the same as
code:
Form1.Show vbModal

For whatever reason with Plus! Plugins the Form you are trying to show has to be set to a Modal state for it to be viewable. I have talked to Patchou about this and he really didn't say much as he doesn't really know anything about VB at all 8-).

A way around this is to create an EXE that is in the Plugins directory and execute it when /xsamplecmd is entered. You can do a lot more with the EXE. You can use the Command Line to pass through information if you need specifics from the Conversation Window and so on.
RE: Help - Plugin Forms by RaceProUK on 09-08-2004 at 10:34 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Matty.
For whatever reason with Plus! Plugins the Form you are trying to show has to be set to a Modal state for it to be viewable. I have talked to Patchou about this and he really didn't say much as he doesn't really know anything about VB at all 8-).
Maybe this is to do with the way modality works? I mean, if the form is modal, it blocks the function that shows the form from returning until the form is closed.
If you tested this under C++ with DialogBox() and CreateWindow(), that could reveal the reason.
RE: Help - Plugin Forms by -dt- on 09-08-2004 at 10:59 AM

could it be because patchou blocks you from making new threds in vb and when you use form.show it runs the form in a new thred ?


RE: Help - Plugin Forms by RaceProUK on 09-08-2004 at 09:41 PM

You can make new threads in C++, so I don't see why you can't create new threads in VB. Oh well, let's just wait for Patch to tell us why.


RE: Help - Plugin Forms by michael_m91 on 09-15-2004 at 04:53 AM

What the hell are you talking about? Threads, i was talking about showing forms in VB.


RE: Help - Plugin Forms by RaceProUK on 09-15-2004 at 11:28 AM

Actually, come to think of it, it's probably not a thread problem (I use threads fine in my plugins), but a form modality problem.