Shoutbox

Locking computer - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Locking computer (/showthread.php?tid=36773)

Locking computer by Anubis on 01-10-2005 at 01:20 PM

I'm currently at school and the network technician has just told me that he's going to disable being able to Lock computers on the LAN. Already when you connect on the secondary server the lock computer button on the windows security panel is greyed out...
The server and all computers on it (except the laptops on the WiFi but that's not important) are running Windows 2000.
What I really need is either a way just to lock the computer anyway or some kind of applications that can't be ended in the task manager to close (of course that will be hard because the processes can be ended)...I have little experience with LANs but I'm going to assume there may be some way to make an application which will trigger the lock on the computer connected to the LAN...I really need this because there's some people I don't trust that may close work I'm doing when I'm logged on and have to leave the computer for a few minutes...
Cheers in advance...

RE: Locking computer by Geniuzzz on 01-10-2005 at 01:26 PM

Hi,

write a small application that
* runs full-screen only and can't loose focus
* intercepts all keyboard input (including alt-ctrl-del)
* requires a password to quit
* give it some other features...

This should do the work.

RE: Locking computer by Ash_ on 01-10-2005 at 02:03 PM

bah bring that copy of Linux that boots from cd to school lol.