Div overflows... - Printable Version -Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net) +-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58) +--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9) +---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17) +----- Thread: Div overflows... (/showthread.php?tid=47712) Div overflows... by jren207 on 07-17-2005 at 04:34 PM
I'm working on a new website design and i'm using mainly Div's. When I view a page i'm working on (screenshot), in Firefox, the Div inside seems to overflow out of the Div that it's inside. In IE, it perfectly overflows. Can anyone specifiy any CSS I can use to stop it overflowing out of the Div? RE: Div overflows... by -dt- on 07-17-2005 at 04:43 PM
IE will stretch the div to fit the content which is in fact the wrong thing , infact its sposed to let the content flow out if it dosnt fit the container. RE: Div overflows... by jren207 on 07-17-2005 at 05:01 PM
ah, that works, I applied it to the div property: RE: Div overflows... by -dt- on 07-17-2005 at 05:16 PM
quote:you can use overflow:hidden to hide the overflowed content.......(also theres overflow-x and overflow-y which you should be able to work out ) but i doubt thats something you would want to do...why not just increase the area of your div? edit: sorry if my post seems not spaced I just noticed fixing some bugs in my wysiwyg editor has broken my <br>'s from parsing (stopping newlines in my posts...) RE: Div overflows... by jren207 on 07-17-2005 at 05:24 PM
can't seem to get overflow-x/overflow-y to work... blah... RE: Div overflows... by hmaster on 07-17-2005 at 05:25 PM
Nope better way without scrollbars which is as follows: code: and change code:to code: According to what I'm seeing on my computer it works but I'm not 100% sure. RE: Div overflows... by jren207 on 07-17-2005 at 05:26 PM
aha, you're a genius hmaster5! RE: Div overflows... by hmaster on 07-17-2005 at 05:30 PM no problem, nice layout btw RE: Div overflows... by RaceProUK on 07-17-2005 at 08:07 PM
quote:That should work properly, as now the browser will calculate height on-the-fly, based on the area required for the content. |