PHP help! =P - Printable Version
-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: PHP help! =P (/showthread.php?tid=57924)
PHP help! =P by absorbation on 04-06-2006 at 05:31 PM
Ok guys I need your brains once again, ya ya.
Let's say I have this html:
<h1>boobs</h1>
<br />
<br />
It is all nice and dandy, and real good having boobs in big letters but I want to show it as:
<h1>boobs</h1><br /><br />
When it is excuted. So is there a way to remove using a function in PHP all the lines spacing and keep all my html on one line?
If anyone can help I would be very greatful
RE: PHP help! =P by WDZ on 04-06-2006 at 05:41 PM
Making it harder to read/steal, eh?
You could simply strip out all the line break characters (\n and \r)...
$source = str_replace(array("\n", "\r"), "", $source);
Of course, that may cause problems if you need line breaks in your code (like for a <textarea> or <pre>). Also, any tabs or spaces used for indenting would still remain... you could probably use a regexp to get rid of those...
RE: PHP help! =P by absorbation on 04-06-2006 at 06:25 PM
$destorylines = array("\n", "\r");
$showstory = str_replace($destorylines, "", "$story");
Thanks wdz I got it working great. I don't like using str_replace but it seems to be the only way
RE: PHP help! =P by WDZ on 04-06-2006 at 06:30 PM
What's wrong with str_replace()?
What kind of method did you have in mind?
RE: PHP help! =P by absorbation on 04-06-2006 at 06:39 PM
quote: Originally posted by WDZ
What kind of method did you have in mind? (Smilie)
Something to add it to the database before hand and not change the code excuted, but I can work with this
RE: PHP help! =P by Plik on 04-06-2006 at 06:43 PM
quote: Originally posted by Absorbation
quote: Originally posted by WDZ
What kind of method did you have in mind? (Smilie)
Something to add it to the database before hand and not change the code excuted, but I can work with this
Then you can just use the str_replace on the string you insert into the database
oh and btw, you don't need the quotes around $story
|