Automaticly parse "www" ? |
Author: |
Message: |
Mike
Elite Member
    

Meet the Spam Family!
Posts: 2794 Reputation: 48
32 / / 
Joined: Mar 2003
Status: Online
|
O.P. Automaticly parse "www" ?
Hello.
Can there be a feature that with automaticly insert [url=www.msgplus.net] if no http:// is typed?
Because some people dont add http:// to their links and its kinda boring to have to open a new window to view that site
So can this be added? 
|
|
09-27-2004 07:44 PM |
|
 |
CookieRevised
Elite Member
    

Posts: 15497 Reputation: 173
– / / 
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
|
RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
And what about sites that don't begin with "www" ? Or sites from the type of "kick.to/something" ? etc.
I mean, it would be very difficult to make a parser that can reconize all those things 100% correctly. So, personaly, I think those people should be less lazy and type http:// instead of WDZ making something that does the stuff for them....
This post was edited on 09-27-2004 at 08:19 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
|
|
09-27-2004 08:17 PM |
|
 |
Millenium_edition
Veteran Member
    

Posts: 1779 Reputation: 57
Joined: Apr 2003
|
RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
well, no, only www... because that's the case in lots of forums. but cookie, you have a point, it's just http:// after all
|
|
09-27-2004 08:22 PM |
|
 |
WDZ
Former Admin
    

Posts: 7105 Reputation: 107
– / / 
Joined: Mar 2002
|
|
09-27-2004 08:24 PM |
|
 |
RebelSean
Veteran Member
    

Microsoft Evangelist
Posts: 2601 Reputation: 59
34 / / 
Joined: May 2004
Status: Away
|
RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
I like the idea, personaly CookieRevise does have a point, but yet it would be nice if you could just type in www.msgplus.net and it makes a clickable link....Would be nice since some of us are lazy  ....
|
|
09-27-2004 08:28 PM |
|
 |
brian
Senior Member
   

Posts: 818 Reputation: 43
– / / –
Joined: Sep 2004
|
|
09-27-2004 09:36 PM |
|
 |
CookieRevised
Elite Member
    

Posts: 15497 Reputation: 173
– / / 
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
|
RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
quote: Originally posted by Brian
I think it auto-does-that =P
http://www.msgplus.net
quote: Originally posted by Mike2
if no http:// is typed
EDIT: hmmm, the parsing of http:// should stop whenever a space is encountered.... :/
This post was edited on 09-28-2004 at 12:15 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
|
|
09-27-2004 10:11 PM |
|
 |
paperless
Veteran Member
    

Saved by the bell
Posts: 1111 Reputation: 37
35 / / 
Joined: Apr 2003
Status: Away
|
RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
Im late on this toic but i htink its kinda stupid that thing because i dont see wheres the problem on typing the whole site?
U ppl waste words on spam and dont want to write the little http:// 
|
|
09-28-2004 07:17 AM |
|
 |
WDZ
Former Admin
    

Posts: 7105 Reputation: 107
– / / 
Joined: Mar 2002
|
RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
quote: Originally posted by CookieRevised
EDIT: hmmm, the parsing of http:// should stop whenever a space is encountered.... :/
Yeah... I can't really remember why it doesn't. I put lots of thought into that parser.
Well, I'll tweak the code and see what breaks. 
|
|
09-28-2004 12:51 PM |
|
 |
The One
Junior Member
 

I am the Alpha and the Omega.
Posts: 99 Reputation: 1
35 / / –
Joined: Nov 2003
|
RE: RE: Automaticly parse "www" ?
quote: Originally posted by paperless
U ppl waste words on spam and dont want to write the little http:// 
Yeah, too right, but in this world, there will always be lazy people...
*Looks around to room... spots a mirror... DOH!*
|
|
09-30-2004 03:10 AM |
|
 |
|