Make a Button Work in Messenger Live |
Author: |
Message: |
shakeebgenii
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2010
|
O.P. Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
Hi Guys,
Sorry for the bad english. I need urgent help on this.
I have add the button in msgsres.dll using ResHacker and it is perfectly showing in the Messenger Main window. Here is the code for the button
code: <button class="HIGToolbarButton" padding=rcrect(20136) layout=BorderLayout() id=atom(gamedsdlg) cmdid="40371" AccRole="44" AccDefAction=rcstr(20500) Tooltip=true active=7 accname="Game Dialog" accdesc="Game Dashboard">
<ButtonIcon class="HIGToolbarIcon" content=rcimg("msgr",1491) ContentAlign=middlecenter padding=rcrect(20140)/>
<element layoutpos=right ContentAlign=middlecenter layout=FillLayout()>
<ButtonText Id=atom(gamedsdlgbtntxt) class="HIGToolbarText" content="" FontSize=rcint(20958)pt ContentAlign=middlecenter padding=rcrect(20141) Shortcut=1/>
</element>
</button>
The Proxy DLL and hooked functions are working fine (Thanks Sunheart for this he send me the code).
The other button named : "Change conact list layout"
If I intercept it with its cmdid="40370" I am getting the MessageBox but when I try to intercept mine cmdid="40371" I am not getting the MessageBox here is the code for hooking.
code: LRESULT CALLBACK MyHookProc(int nCode,WPARAM wParam,LPARAM lParam)
{
MSG *pMsg=(MSG *)lParam;
if(pMsg->message == WM_COMMAND ) //
{
//if(pMsg->wParam ==44344) //you should use your command ID
if(pMsg->wParam == 40370)
{
//here you can do anything
MessageBox(NULL, L"I am just trying my wedding dress", L"MyCommand", NULL);
//pMsg->message=WM_NULL;
}
if(pMsg->wParam == 40371)
{
//here you can do anything
MessageBox(NULL, L"I am just trying my wedding dress", L"MyCommand", NULL);
//pMsg->message=WM_NULL;
}
}
return CallNextHookEx(g_hHook, nCode, wParam, lParam );
}
Where I am doing Wrong.
|
|
07-01-2010 06:44 PM |
|
|
djdannyp
Elite Member
Danny <3 Sarah
Posts: 3546 Reputation: 31
38 / /
Joined: Mar 2006
|
RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
If you use skinning to change the function of the button it will be a LOT more straightforward and won't require anything illegal (like ResHacking msgsres.dll) and won't require nearly as much code.
What are you trying to get the button to do?
|
|
07-01-2010 06:57 PM |
|
|
shakeebgenii
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2010
|
O.P. RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
I have the task from my boss to make a button which is not dependent on Messenger Plus.
OnClick of the button I have to open a dialog in which I have to open a url.
Thanks
|
|
07-01-2010 07:01 PM |
|
|
djdannyp
Elite Member
Danny <3 Sarah
Posts: 3546 Reputation: 31
38 / /
Joined: Mar 2006
|
RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
Surely using the 'Favourite's Bar' in the web browser is a much better way of accomplishing this, by just adding it as a favourite?
Or if they want it to be done exclusively in Messenger (which is a bit backwards, but still...) perhaps using Messenger Plus! Live's QuickText feature, creating a short string such as "(link)" which will automatically paste the text of the [I'm guessing] long link into the conversation window from where it can be clicked on?
There are FAR better ways to open a link than modifying Windows Live Messenger to add an extra button for it
|
|
07-01-2010 07:56 PM |
|
|
shakeebgenii
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2010
|
O.P. RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
I dont want to open a link in IE I want to open the link in a dialog which has the same skin like MSN like we do using MsgPlus.
But I have to do it without MsgPlus.
Thanks for your help.
|
|
07-01-2010 07:59 PM |
|
|
djdannyp
Elite Member
Danny <3 Sarah
Posts: 3546 Reputation: 31
38 / /
Joined: Mar 2006
|
RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
What do you mean a link that has the same skin as MSN?
There isn't a web browser built into Windows Live Messenger, so you won't be able to open URLs in it
|
|
07-01-2010 08:25 PM |
|
|
shakeebgenii
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2010
|
O.P. RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
I mean a window like Messenger Plus open for its Window.
And Like the browser functionality MsgPlus is Providing.
Thanks
|
|
07-01-2010 08:29 PM |
|
|
blessedguy
Skinning Contest Winner
Posts: 1762 Reputation: 25
31 / /
Joined: Jan 2008
|
RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
quote: Originally posted by djdannyp
here isn't a web browser built into Windows Live Messenger, so you won't be able to open URLs in it
What about Windows Live Today and those rare times a new window opens telling about some WLMessenger feature?
|
|
07-01-2010 08:33 PM |
|
|
shakeebgenii
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Jul 2010
|
O.P. RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
please help me to get it done.
|
|
07-01-2010 08:37 PM |
|
|
djdannyp
Elite Member
Danny <3 Sarah
Posts: 3546 Reputation: 31
38 / /
Joined: Mar 2006
|
RE: Make a Button Work in Messenger Live
quote: Originally posted by shakeebgenii
I mean a window like Messenger Plus open for its Window.
And Like the browser functionality MsgPlus is Providing.
Thanks
Messenger Plus! Live doesn't natively offer a browsing facility (there is a script that creates a web browser, but you need Messenger Plus! Live for it....and might as well just use a web browser). You cannot open URLs in any windows that Messenger provides.
quote: Originally posted by blessedguy
quote: Originally posted by djdannyp
here isn't a web browser built into Windows Live Messenger, so you won't be able to open URLs in it
What about Windows Live Today and those rare times a new window opens telling about some WLMessenger feature?
You can't browse from them though, you can't input a URL into them.
Why is this feature not using a web browser? What's the problem with using a web browser to open a URL instead, seeing as that's what they're intended for?
|
|
07-01-2010 09:32 PM |
|
|
|