Website help |
Author: |
Message: |
Reaper
Veteran Member
Posts: 1393 Reputation: 23
36 / /
Joined: Jun 2004
|
O.P. Website help
I have 2 problems with my site.
First of all, if an image is a link, its messes up the display of the site. Bascially what it does, once the mouse is over the image, all content below it is pushed up.
Example - http://www.theweener.com/
If you out your mouse over the Cam For Sam button, the button underneath it moves up. Thats what I want to stop.
Second of all, I signed up to Google AdSense, but when I place the code on my site, nothing appears. What am I doing wrong?
This post was edited on 05-05-2006 at 11:47 PM by Reaper.
|
|
05-05-2006 11:33 PM |
|
|
rav0
Veteran Member
i have an avatar
Posts: 1419 Reputation: 29
35 / /
Joined: Aug 2003
|
RE: Website help
The image doesn't move when I view it (in Opera and Internet Explorer). Have you fixed it?
If it isn't working in another browser, I think that it might be because of the underline border. code: a{
border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA;
}
a:hover{
border-bottom: 0px;
}
The border is set to disappear when the link is hovered over. I guess that the problem browser isn't drawing the border properly, and when the link is hovered over, it causes the moving. Try setting border-style to none instead of setting the width to 0px.
I can't see the code for AdSense anywhere on the page.
| |
(\ /)
(O.o)
(> <)
This is Bunny. Copy Bunny into your signature to help him on his way to world domination
|
|
05-06-2006 02:46 AM |
|
|
RaceProUK
Elite Member
Posts: 6073 Reputation: 57
39 / /
Joined: Oct 2003
|
RE: Website help
Try code: a{
border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA;
}
a:hover{
border-bottom: 1px dashed #5F5F5F;
}
instead. It'll change the underline to the same colour as the sidebar.
|
|
05-06-2006 01:15 PM |
|
|
Dempsey
Scripting Contest Winner
http://AdamDempsey.net
Posts: 2395 Reputation: 53
38 / /
Joined: Jul 2003
|
RE: Website help
quote: Originally posted by Reaper
Second of all, I signed up to Google AdSense, but when I place the code on my site, nothing appears. What am I doing wrong?
It can take time for them to spider your site etc, took a day or so for me.
|
|
05-06-2006 01:21 PM |
|
|
zaher1988
Senior Member
Inseperable
Posts: 699 Reputation: 10
36 / /
Joined: Jun 2005
Status: Away
|
RE: Website help
You have a problem with your contact form.
A visitor can put whatever email and send you the message.
and email without @ or .com .net etc.. should display an error message.
you can have something like
code:
if (stristr($email,"@") === false OR stristr($email ,".") === false)
{
//message here
}
regards
This post was edited on 05-06-2006 at 02:14 PM by zaher1988.
|
|
05-06-2006 02:12 PM |
|
|
lordy
Senior Member
Posts: 853 Reputation: 24
35 / /
Joined: Jul 2004
Status: Away
|
RE: Website help
quote: Originally posted by zaher1988
..[snip]...
code:
if (stristr($email,"@") === false || stristr($email ,".") === false)
{
//message here
}
I was gunna do this for my website lol! thanks for reminding me
|
|
05-06-2006 02:22 PM |
|
|
RaceProUK
Elite Member
Posts: 6073 Reputation: 57
39 / /
Joined: Oct 2003
|
RE: Website help
A regular expression may work better.
|
|
05-06-2006 05:38 PM |
|
|
Reaper
Veteran Member
Posts: 1393 Reputation: 23
36 / /
Joined: Jun 2004
|
O.P. RE: Website help
OK, as the noob that I am, when I put the code in Dreamweaver, it displays the code as text instead of actually processing the code. (if you dont understand, look at my sight, and you will see the code).
Also, its only in Firefox I have this problem, I never actually checked in IE, and after checking IE, I realised that the smileys for my tagbox dont ever show up in Firefox, but I fixed the smileys.
What can I do about the code?
Also, about Google AdSense, I removed the code from the file, but i'll add it back in a random place in a sec
I added the Google AdSense code underneath the April 1st news, but doesn't come up
This post was edited on 05-06-2006 at 06:06 PM by Reaper.
|
|
05-06-2006 06:01 PM |
|
|
user35870
Disabled Account
Posts: 858
Joined: Aug 2004
Status: Away
|
RE: Website help
quote: Originally posted by Reaper
OK, as the noob that I am, when I put the code in Dreamweaver, it displays the code as text instead of actually processing the code. (if you dont understand, look at my sight, and you will see the code).
You need to put:
code: a{ border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA; } a:hover{ border-bottom: 0px; }
in your "style.css" file to make it work.
|
|
05-06-2006 06:06 PM |
|
|
Reaper
Veteran Member
Posts: 1393 Reputation: 23
36 / /
Joined: Jun 2004
|
O.P. RE: Website help
quote: Originally posted by Chr1s
quote: Originally posted by Reaper
OK, as the noob that I am, when I put the code in Dreamweaver, it displays the code as text instead of actually processing the code. (if you dont understand, look at my sight, and you will see the code).
You need to put:
code: a{ border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA; } a:hover{ border-bottom: 0px; }
in your "style.css" file to make it work.
Ah, ok I get you
[Edit] raceprouk's code works like a treat!
Now, as for zaher1988's code. How would I put that in?
This post was edited on 05-06-2006 at 06:52 PM by Reaper.
|
|
05-06-2006 06:07 PM |
|
|
Pages: (2):
« First
[ 1 ]
2
»
Last »
|
|