How Do You Edit A .exe? |
Author: |
Message: |
.Roy
Veteran Member
Posts: 1526 Reputation: 11
20 / / –
Joined: Aug 2004
|
O.P. How Do You Edit A .exe?
Lets say i have an .exe that does something every 60 seconds or so and it clicks "K"
How can i edit the program tro make it evey 30 seconds and click B.
this is just for an example.
|
|
08-28-2006 12:39 PM |
|
|
Eddie
Veteran Member
Posts: 2078 Reputation: 30
32 / /
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
I think you have to get hold of the source code, but im not 100% sure.
Waits for smart person to reply
This post was edited on 08-28-2006 at 12:46 PM by Eddie.
...there used to be a signature here
|
|
08-28-2006 12:45 PM |
|
|
Matti
Elite Member
Script Developer and Helper
Posts: 1646 Reputation: 39
32 / /
Joined: Apr 2004
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
An EXE is a compiled program. If you don't have the source code of it, there's really no way you can modify it. If there would be a way, we wouldn't have to make Plus! hook into Messenger but simply add its source to Messenger's...
Also, it would make programs very vulnerable for malicious programs. Think about a script which changes a virus scanner's code to make it install virusses instead of preventing you from them.
The best way to make your idea is by developing such program by yourself, or asking for the code from the original creator.
|
|
08-28-2006 12:48 PM |
|
|
.Roy
Veteran Member
Posts: 1526 Reputation: 11
20 / / –
Joined: Aug 2004
|
O.P. RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
I get it lol...
Too bad... Theres this program that clicks i every couple of seconds and i need it to click q
dam...
|
|
08-28-2006 01:03 PM |
|
|
matty
Scripting Guru
Posts: 8336 Reputation: 109
39 / /
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
quote: Originally posted by .Roy
I get it lol...
Too bad... Theres this program that clicks i every couple of seconds and i need it to click q
dam...
That could be made using the Windows API
|
|
08-28-2006 01:19 PM |
|
|
segosa
Community's Choice
Posts: 1407 Reputation: 92
Joined: Feb 2003
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
You could reverse engineer it. What you want to do sounds pretty easy actually.
Use a disassembler like OllyDbg to do it. You need to know ASM though. If you don't, post the app here so maybe one of us can try.
The previous sentence is false. The following sentence is true.
|
|
08-28-2006 02:13 PM |
|
|
ShawnZ
Veteran Member
Posts: 3146 Reputation: 43
32 / /
Joined: Jan 2003
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
quote: Originally posted by Mattike
An EXE is a compiled program. If you don't have the source code of it, there's really no way you can modify it. If there would be a way, we wouldn't have to make Plus! hook into Messenger but simply add its source to Messenger's...
messpatch? apatch?
quote: Also, it would make programs very vulnerable for malicious programs. Think about a script which changes a virus scanner's code to make it install virusses instead of preventing you from them.
why do you think virus scanners set up protection to prevent them from being modified...
quote: The best way to make your idea is by developing such program by yourself, or asking for the code from the original creator.
agreed. reverse engineering is useful if you want to modify one portion of a large application, but changing most of a very small program is just useless.
Spoiler: the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
the game.
|
|
08-28-2006 02:27 PM |
|
|
Matti
Elite Member
Script Developer and Helper
Posts: 1646 Reputation: 39
32 / /
Joined: Apr 2004
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
quote: Originally posted by ShawnZ
messpatch? apatch?
Good try, but those use Resource Hacker which can change hexadecimal codes. They can't add new features, like a new menu, in it, but only modify the images and UIFILES. And when you now gonna tell me Aero MSN can add menu's, that's a modified background popup menu. Ever wondered why there wasn't the "Choose background" menu but instead the dialog box when you clicked the Backgrounds button? The same way they changed other menu's to 'create' their own. No new features, but patches.
|
|
08-28-2006 03:01 PM |
|
|
Lou
Veteran Member
Posts: 2475 Reputation: 43
– / /
Joined: Aug 2004
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
quote: Originally posted by Mattike
They can't add new features, like a new menu, in it, but only modify the images and UIFILES.
Messpatch has a feature to add a new image inside the conversation window, so you can instantly go to your recieved files.
The future holds bright things in it\\\'s path, but only time will tell what they are and where they come from.
Messenger Stuff Forums
|
|
08-28-2006 03:05 PM |
|
|
RaceProUK
Elite Member
Posts: 6073 Reputation: 57
39 / /
Joined: Oct 2003
|
RE: How Do You Edit A .exe?
quote: Originally posted by Mattike
If you don't have the source code of it, there's really no way you can modify it.
You can hook API calls, which allows you to add all sorts of stuff. Hooking API calls involves patching the EXE's Import Address Table, either on the disk or in memory.
This post was edited on 08-28-2006 at 03:18 PM by RaceProUK.
|
|
08-28-2006 03:17 PM |
|
|
Pages: (2):
« First
[ 1 ]
2
»
Last »
|
|