[Request] Changing Toast Location |
Author: |
Message: |
FootSoulJah
Junior Member
Posts: 29 Reputation: 1
Joined: Aug 2006
|
O.P. [Request] Changing Toast Location
As we all know the default location is on the bottom right corner of the screen. Is it possible to change the location to say, the top left corner of the screen or the bottom left etc?
I did some searching and I could not find anything related.
Please help.
|
|
07-08-2008 02:34 AM |
|
|
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
Posts: 815 Reputation: 15
30 / /
Joined: Jul 2007
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
No
|
|
07-08-2008 07:44 PM |
|
|
matty
Scripting Guru
Posts: 8336 Reputation: 109
39 / /
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
Move the taskbar to the top of the screen? I thought it used to work that way I may be wrong.
|
|
07-09-2008 01:48 PM |
|
|
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
Posts: 815 Reputation: 15
30 / /
Joined: Jul 2007
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
Well, perhaps I was wrong..
Today my Explorer got frozen up, so I killed the process. Then MsgPlus displayed a toast, guess where it was: At the top-left corner of the screen.. Maybe this information is of use to you..
|
|
07-09-2008 03:40 PM |
|
|
Spunky
Former Super Mod
Posts: 3658 Reputation: 61
36 / /
Joined: Aug 2006
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
quote: Originally posted by SmokingCookie
Well, perhaps I was wrong..
Today my Explorer got frozen up, so I killed the process. Then MsgPlus displayed a toast, guess where it was: At the top-left corner of the screen.. Maybe this information is of use to you..
No, that is because the taskbar currently doesn't exist and IIRC system metrics are measured from the top left (like a Flash movie)
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up"
|
|
07-09-2008 04:39 PM |
|
|
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
Posts: 815 Reputation: 15
30 / /
Joined: Jul 2007
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
Can toasts be located by GetForegroundWindow()?
If so, one can get the toast's handle and useMoveWindow() to move it to the desired position. Such a code would be:
code: var Toast = new Object();
function getToastHandle() {
return Interop.Call("User32.dll","GetForegroundWindow"); // retrieves toast handle
}
function setToastPosition() {
Interop.Call("User32.dll","MoveWindow",getToastHandle(),0,0,Width,Height,false); // Top-left corner, I don't know the width and height of toast windows. Can be figured out using MsPaint.
}
This post was edited on 07-09-2008 at 04:55 PM by SmokingCookie.
|
|
07-09-2008 04:48 PM |
|
|
Spunky
Former Super Mod
Posts: 3658 Reputation: 61
36 / /
Joined: Aug 2006
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
quote: Originally posted by SmokingCookie
Can toasts be located by GetForegroundWindow()?
If so, one can get the toast's handle and useMoveWindow() to move it to the desired position. Such a code would be:
code: var Toast = new Object();
function getToastHandle() {
return Interop.Call("User32.dll","GetForegroundWindow"); // retrieves toast handle
}
function setToastPosition() {
Interop.Call("User32.dll","MoveWindow",getToastHandle(),0,0,Width,Height,false); // Top-left corner, I don't know the width and height of toast windows. Can be figured out using MsPaint.
}
You would have to edit the animation too, which is not quite so easy
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up"
|
|
07-09-2008 06:35 PM |
|
|
SmokingCookie
Senior Member
Posts: 815 Reputation: 15
30 / /
Joined: Jul 2007
|
RE: [Request] Changing Toast Location
Ouch
But I am getting close, right?
|
|
07-09-2008 06:37 PM |
|
|
|