Altering incoming text |
Author: |
Message: |
RooJ
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2004
|
O.P. Altering incoming text
Hey, ive just started coding a plugin in vb but im not sure on one thing.
I want it so if my plugin gets a certain notifycode it will alter the incoming text in a certain way such as adding the time to the end of it and then place it in the chat window as normal.. a simple example:
if the notify code is "atest" then i want it to alter the incoming message so it has "test" at the front and the end.
From what ive seen the ReceiveNotify function's sText parameter allows me to get the text sent to me.. i can then say sumthing like mystring = "test " & sText & " test", but how do i get it to add mystring to the conversation window instead of the actual message they sent. Is this actually possible?
Thanks for any help
RooJ
|
|
04-23-2004 02:41 PM |
|
|
Choli
Elite Member
Choli
Posts: 4714 Reputation: 42
43 / /
Joined: Jan 2003
|
RE: Altering incoming text
No, sorry, you can't do that. In ReceiveNotify you can (as you've said) send a message in response of the incomming one, but you can't modifiy in any way the received message. I know that would be great, however that isn't possible.
|
|
04-23-2004 03:49 PM |
|
|
eXXon
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2004
|
RE: Altering incoming text
Plus, it will be in the next Plus! (ahem)
I hope Patchou'll release a new API to let us mess more with incoming text
|
|
04-23-2004 04:19 PM |
|
|
optimism_
Senior Member
Ctrl+Alt+Del - Tragically l337
Posts: 521 Reputation: 8
38 / / –
Joined: Jul 2003
|
RE: RE: Altering incoming text
quote: Originally posted by eXXon
Plus, it will be in the next Plus! (ahem)
How do you know this?
HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found
|
|
04-23-2004 04:37 PM |
|
|
Choli
Elite Member
Choli
Posts: 4714 Reputation: 42
43 / /
Joined: Jan 2003
|
RE: Altering incoming text
quote: Originally posted by eXXon
I hope Patchou'll release a new API to let us mess more with incoming text
mmm.... i'm not sure if he'll do that... in the beta version it's not possible (i think)
|
|
04-23-2004 04:44 PM |
|
|
eXXon
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Apr 2004
|
RE: Altering incoming text
quote: Originally posted by optimism_
How do you know this?
http://shoutbox.menthix.net/showthread.php?tid=21785
Well, kinda..
there will be a feature to replace incoming words.
BUT, that proofs that Patchou is able to modify incoming text, so I really hope he will let us use that in plugins in the future
This post was edited on 04-23-2004 at 04:51 PM by eXXon.
|
|
04-23-2004 04:49 PM |
|
|
Choli
Elite Member
Choli
Posts: 4714 Reputation: 42
43 / /
Joined: Jan 2003
|
RE: Altering incoming text
quote: Originally posted by eXXon
BUT, that proofs that Patchou is able to modify incoming text, so I really hope he will let us use that in plugins in the future
that's not the first proof of patchou beign able to modify incomming texts, also with the color codes, text formatting, /ping command, etc... However there's a limitation: the modified text can't be longer than the original.
|
|
04-23-2004 04:52 PM |
|
|
optimism_
Senior Member
Ctrl+Alt+Del - Tragically l337
Posts: 521 Reputation: 8
38 / / –
Joined: Jul 2003
|
RE: Altering incoming text
Oh yes it is possible to modify the incoming text, thats not in question
What will probably not happen, is that we wont be given access to modify the incoming text in our plugins. It is a security risk, and its why we dont already hav this ability
HTTP 404 - Signature Not Found
|
|
04-23-2004 04:59 PM |
|
|
RooJ
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2004
|
O.P. RE: Altering incoming text
Damn thats annoying.. at the moment im bringing the altered text up in a msgbox to the other user, but it can really bug you when your typing alot of messages with it.
|
|
04-23-2004 05:14 PM |
|
|
RooJ
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Apr 2004
|
O.P. RE: Altering incoming text
Optimism, I dont get why you think it would be a security risk, care to explain? as i see it its not like u can fake a connection to yourself from them or something such as a file transfer, the text is already there, mess has processed it, and your just modifying it before its displayed.
Whats the prob?
RooJ
|
|
04-23-2004 11:46 PM |
|
|
Pages: (4):
« First
[ 1 ]
2
3
4
»
Last »
|
|