Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS |
Author: |
Message: |
Th3rmal
Veteran Member
Peek-a-boo! I see you!!
Posts: 1226 Reputation: 26
32 / /
Joined: Aug 2005
|
O.P. Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
I want to convert my external HDD from FAT32 to NTFS, and after a small search i found that it can easily be done by inputting the following into cmd:
J convert j: /fs:ntfs
Once i do this, i get the following:
And so i scheduled a task to run when the computer next restarted.
I restarted the pc and the task ran, but gave me the following error:
The file system of J: cannot be determined.
and it quit and the computer booted up as normal.
Anyone have any solutions as how i can convert my hdd to ntfs without the problems?
This post was edited on 12-22-2008 at 01:38 AM by Th3rmal.
You have the intellect comparable to that of a rock. Be proud.
|
|
12-22-2008 01:37 AM |
|
|
ipab
Veteran Member
Design Evolved
Posts: 1017 Reputation: 32
35 / /
Joined: May 2004
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
Just as a precursor to any major filesystem changes, you should always run Check Disk.
code: chkdsk volume:/r
Then try using this tool:
http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/
to kill all handles ("Unlock All" option)... I realize that the convert command asks you if you want to kill all handles, but perhaps something is not letting it...
Once you have done this, now run the convert option and accept everything it asks you.
code: convert volume: /fs:NTFS
P.S. toddy, see that wasn't so hard... people generally post in forums for help, and sometimes their issues might be something that cannot be fixed by a quick google search, so next time, try not to be a smart ass.
This post was edited on 12-22-2008 at 02:09 AM by ipab.
56656E692C 20566964692C 2056696369
|
|
12-22-2008 02:06 AM |
|
|
ryxdp
Senior Member
Posts: 804 Reputation: 16
30 / /
Joined: Jun 2006
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
I've already told him to check whether any files are being used; it appears he's got some icons for IconTweaker on the drive, which are probably causing the issue among other things.
|
|
12-22-2008 02:22 AM |
|
|
Th3rmal
Veteran Member
Peek-a-boo! I see you!!
Posts: 1226 Reputation: 26
32 / /
Joined: Aug 2005
|
O.P. RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
quote: Originally posted by ipab
Just as a precursor to any major filesystem changes, you should always run Check Disk.
code: chkdsk volume:/r
Then try using this tool:
http://ccollomb.free.fr/unlocker/
to kill all handles ("Unlock All" option)... I realize that the convert command asks you if you want to kill all handles, but perhaps something is not letting it...
Once you have done this, now run the convert option and accept everything it asks you.
code: convert volume: /fs:NTFS
P.S. toddy, see that wasn't so hard... people generally post in forums for help, and sometimes their issues might be something that cannot be fixed by a quick google search, so next time, try not to be a smart ass.
Thanks ipab.
After running chkdsk, everything seemed to be fine. So i proceeded with getting the unlocker. I killed all processes and tried to run the conversion. But still, it said that it needed to kill the handles, even though the only handles that were on the drive were from cmd.
I also tried the scheduled task on restart again, but the same issue as last time. =/
You have the intellect comparable to that of a rock. Be proud.
|
|
12-22-2008 02:26 AM |
|
|
prashker
Veteran Member
Posts: 5109 Reputation: 104
– / / –
Joined: Mar 2005
Status: Away
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
This is assuming you have enough space somewhere else.
Transfer to PC...Format as NTFS ?
It's weird that it won't let you do it on restart. Is there any reason why you want the External Hard Drive to be NTFS, unless it's needed I don't know why it can't just stay as FAT32. ;>
This post was edited on 12-22-2008 at 02:49 AM by prashker.
|
|
12-22-2008 02:49 AM |
|
|
ipab
Veteran Member
Design Evolved
Posts: 1017 Reputation: 32
35 / /
Joined: May 2004
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
quote: Originally posted by SonicSam
It's weird that it won't let you do it on restart. Is there any reason why you want the External Hard Drive to be NTFS, unless it's needed I don't know why it can't just stay as FAT32. ;>
If he is using it to store HD movies or something... cause anything single file over 4gb, fat32 freaks out.
56656E692C 20566964692C 2056696369
|
|
12-22-2008 02:57 AM |
|
|
Th3rmal
Veteran Member
Peek-a-boo! I see you!!
Posts: 1226 Reputation: 26
32 / /
Joined: Aug 2005
|
O.P. RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
quote: Originally posted by ipab
quote: Originally posted by SonicSam
It's weird that it won't let you do it on restart. Is there any reason why you want the External Hard Drive to be NTFS, unless it's needed I don't know why it can't just stay as FAT32. ;>
If he is using it to store HD movies or something... cause anything single file over 4gb, fat32 freaks out.
Thats exactly the reason. I need to transfer files of over 6gb to that HDD, and this is the reason why i need it to be NTFS.
Formatting is probably the last thing i can do, but i find it interesting that it wont even let me do it on startup because the file system cannot be recognised
You have the intellect comparable to that of a rock. Be proud.
|
|
12-22-2008 03:01 AM |
|
|
prashker
Veteran Member
Posts: 5109 Reputation: 104
– / / –
Joined: Mar 2005
Status: Away
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
quote: Originally posted by ipab
quote: Originally posted by SonicSam
It's weird that it won't let you do it on restart. Is there any reason why you want the External Hard Drive to be NTFS, unless it's needed I don't know why it can't just stay as FAT32. ;>
If he is using it to store HD movies or something... cause anything single file over 4gb, fat32 freaks out.
Well of course, I was plagued by this back in the day .
Still, then I go back to my alternate idea. Copy data then just format it
|
|
12-22-2008 03:02 AM |
|
|
TheSteve
Full Member
The Man from Japan
Posts: 179 Reputation: 23
40 / /
Joined: Aug 2005
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
When you switch to a drive in CMD, it will open a handle to the drive.
So when you attempt to change the file system on drive j:, since CMD has an open handle, it fails.
Try to run the command without switching to the drive first.
code: c:\Program Files\Pedram> convert j: /fs:ntfs
|
|
12-22-2008 04:32 AM |
|
|
prashker
Veteran Member
Posts: 5109 Reputation: 104
– / / –
Joined: Mar 2005
Status: Away
|
RE: Convert External HDD from FAT32 to NTFS
quote: Originally posted by TheSteve
When you switch to a drive in CMD, it will open a handle to the drive.
So when you attempt to change the file system on drive j:, since CMD has an open handle, it fails.
Try to run the command without switching to the drive first.
code: c:\Program Files\Pedram> convert j: /fs:ntfs
But that wouldn't explain why it didn't work after reboot ?...or would it
|
|
12-22-2008 05:09 AM |
|
|
Pages: (2):
« First
[ 1 ]
2
»
Last »
|
|