[Help] Placing A New Image |
Author: |
Message: |
Eddie
Veteran Member
Posts: 2078 Reputation: 30
32 / /
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
|
O.P. [Help] Placing A New Image
After trying numerous images, simply creating one image to make the background work isn't very good because it stretches horribly. So i have decided to try a new method but can't figure it out being my first skin.
I want to place a new image on the Logon Window, and the Main Window, but i cannot find a method of doing this, i knew on 8.5 but on 2009 im clueless. Whilst also having a background image in place btw.
If possible i would also like to attempt this in the conversation window.
Can anyone help? If not i will just keep trying creating new background images and things.
...there used to be a signature here
|
|
03-07-2009 03:38 PM |
|
|
Basilis
Veteran Member
Olympiacos CFP
Posts: 1366 Reputation: 46
31 / /
Joined: Dec 2007
|
RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
If you specify dimensions for the image, it will not stretch. That is what I did on 8.5 with the Champions League skin. haven't even touched 2009 though so I cannot be sure. You can check my UIFiles to see if you tried the code I have there.
|
|
03-07-2009 03:46 PM |
|
|
Eddie
Veteran Member
Posts: 2078 Reputation: 30
32 / /
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
|
O.P. RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
quote: Originally posted by Basilis
If you specify dimensions for the image, it will not stretch. That is what I did on 8.5 with the Champions League skin. haven't even touched 2009 though so I cannot be sure. You can check my UIFiles to see if you tried the code I have there.
I understand that, but won't that mess up the skin if someone uses bigger dimensions Because i don't really feel like i should restrict the user from making a window smaller/bigger.
...there used to be a signature here
|
|
03-07-2009 03:50 PM |
|
|
djdannyp
Elite Member
Danny <3 Sarah
Posts: 3546 Reputation: 31
38 / /
Joined: Mar 2006
|
RE: RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
quote: Originally posted by Basilis
If you specify dimensions for the image, it will not stretch. That is what I did on 8.5 with the Champions League skin. haven't even touched 2009 though so I cannot be sure. You can check my UIFiles to see if you tried the code I have there.
I haven't specified dimensions for my pictures and they don't stretch
Eddie, here's an example of what i did with the logon window:
xml code: <Element LayoutPos=top id=atom(idSceneEdge) Background=rcbkd("msgr",4301) Height=rcint("msgr",4111) AddBehavior=DUI::ShowHide()/>
<Element Background=rcbkd("msgr",4300) LayoutPos=client/>
</Element>
>>><element layoutpos=bottom layout=borderlayout()><<<
>>><element layoutpos=right content=rcimg("msgr",59000)/><<<
>>></element><<<
<Element Layout=BorderLayout()>
<Element layoutpos=client layout=BorderLayout() id=atom(idLogonFrameClientArea) padding=Rect(0,2,0,0)>
The highlighted lines add the new picture 59000 aligned to the bottom right of the logon window, behind all of the other icons and stuff.
The picture displays at the same size whatever size the window is set to.....however it does squash if someone tries to make the window smaller.....making it bigger does NOT stretch the picture however.
If you want more examples of code then let me know
|
|
03-07-2009 03:57 PM |
|
|
Basilis
Veteran Member
Olympiacos CFP
Posts: 1366 Reputation: 46
31 / /
Joined: Dec 2007
|
RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
You will specify dimensions only for the new image, not for the window. And then, you will give the image in the SkinInfo the dimensions like this:
If the image has height 100, you will give 99 at the top or bottom value (depends on where the image is placed).
To understand what I mean, take a look at my skin.
|
|
03-07-2009 03:59 PM |
|
|
djdannyp
Elite Member
Danny <3 Sarah
Posts: 3546 Reputation: 31
38 / /
Joined: Mar 2006
|
RE: RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
quote: Originally posted by Basilis
You will specify dimensions only for the new image, not for the window. And then, you will give the image in the SkinInfo the dimensions like this:
If the image has height 100, you will give 99 at the top or bottom value (depends on where the image is placed).
To understand what I mean, take a look at my skin.
xml code: <Resources>
<New>
<Pictures>
<Picture Id="59000">
<File>images/women/michelleryan.png</File>
</Picture>
</Pictures>
</New>
</Resources>
as i stated, i have NOT given dimensions to my images
This post was edited on 03-07-2009 at 04:13 PM by djdannyp.
|
|
03-07-2009 04:13 PM |
|
|
Eddie
Veteran Member
Posts: 2078 Reputation: 30
32 / /
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
|
O.P. RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
Okay that worked how i wished for that, but when it comes to the "Buddy List" and Conversation window a slightly modified version of that piece of code doesn't work.
EDIT: In the buddy list i can get it to partially work, but it pushes the actual "buddy list" smaller so that it doesn't work properly.
This post was edited on 03-07-2009 at 04:37 PM by Eddie.
...there used to be a signature here
|
|
03-07-2009 04:31 PM |
|
|
LuckyMe
Skinning Contest Winner
Posts: 147 Reputation: 7
– / /
Joined: Feb 2008
Status: Away
|
RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
Well this works for me on Contact list wndw:
quote: <Element id=atom(header) Layoutpos=top Height=0/>
<Element Layout=BorderLayout() layoutPos=Top>
<Element padding=rect(0,0,0,0) content=rcbkd(59148) layoutpos=Right/>
</Element>
</Element>
That puts the picture on the top/left corner of the window I guess you know how to change that
This post was edited on 03-07-2009 at 05:32 PM by LuckyMe.
|
|
03-07-2009 04:52 PM |
|
|
Eddie
Veteran Member
Posts: 2078 Reputation: 30
32 / /
Joined: Oct 2005
Status: Away
|
O.P. RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
quote: Originally posted by LuckyMe
Well this works for me on Contact list wndw:
That puts the picture on the top/left corner of the window Iguess you know how to change that
Worked, however it goes behind the background i have implemented on the BuddyList.
...there used to be a signature here
|
|
03-07-2009 05:10 PM |
|
|
LuckyMe
Skinning Contest Winner
Posts: 147 Reputation: 7
– / /
Joined: Feb 2008
Status: Away
|
RE: RE: [Help] Placing A New Image
quote: Originally posted by Eddie
That puts the picture on the top/left corner of the window Iguess you know how to change that
Worked, however it goes behind the background i have implemented on the BuddyList.
well it should not, here is what I did:
quote: <Element id=atom(mainwndcontainer) Layoutpos=client Layout=FillLayout() background=argb(0,0,0,0) Class="HIGStandardFont">
<Element Background=rcbkd("msgr",625) LayoutPos=client/>
<Element Background=rcbkd("msgr",59147) LayoutPos=client/>
<Element Layout=BorderLayout()>
<Element id=atom(header) Layoutpos=top Height=0/>
<Element Layout=BorderLayout() layoutPos=Top>
<Element padding=rect(0,0,0,0) content=rcbkd(59148) layoutpos=Right/>
</Element>
</Element>
in chat window code is way different...
quote: <Element id=atom(header) Layoutpos=top Height=0/>
</Element>
<Element id=atom(vapor) ContentAlign=rcint(21079)/>
<Element Layout=FillLayout()>
<Element layoutpos=client layout=FillLayout() background=rcclr("msgr",1826)>
<Wallpaperview Id=atom(wallpaper) LayoutPos=client Background=rcbkd(59181) Thumbnail=false Active=0 Enabled=false/>
<Element Layout=BorderLayout() layoutPos=bottom>
<Element padding=rect(0,0,0,0) content=rcbkd(59148) layoutpos=Right/>
</Element>
<DynBkgnd id=atom(flashbackground) class="noncaptionable" layout=FillLayout() enabled=true>
does that work? it does for me on both windows i can give you an example skin if u ask for it
This post was edited on 03-07-2009 at 05:30 PM by LuckyMe.
|
|
03-07-2009 05:24 PM |
|
|
Pages: (2):
« First
[ 1 ]
2
»
Last »
|
|