What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » [REQUEST]Idle lies

Pages: (10): « First « 1 [ 2 ] 3 4 5 6 » Last »
[REQUEST]Idle lies
Author: Message:
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
For the "Idle on demand" script: see below....

------------------------------------------------


quote:
Originally posted by absorbation
Shrbr is making something, he found a registry value to change to idle status and is intergrating it into a script.
The only idle related Messenger registry value there is is the one which indicates with what status you are going to signin. This is shown and used already 2 months ago in my Remember Status script.

But this is of no use whatsoever to the OP.

Even if you can set a registry value to "idle", that wont do anything good since Messenger does not constantly poll the registry to see if it needs to change the status.



------------------------------

To change the status on demand to 'Idle' you need to manipulate the protocol directly (this is how some addons like Messenger Discovery do it) or find a means to trick messenger into setting it to idle directly.

Also, don't forget that messenger reconizes when the computer goes to idle and out of idle by recieving a Windows message from Windows. It might by possible to manipulate that instead, but it will also have some possible drawbacks if you don't do it right and thus not do what has been requested (which is to set the status Idle on demand but still being able to use the computer; so the status stays on Idle and doesn't switch back to online). It depends on how you do it.



------------------------------

EDIT:
quote:
Originally posted by shrbr
Make a .reg file

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00



[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\MSNMessenger\PerPassportSettings\MSN ID]
"DefaultSignInState"=dword:00000012

Replace MSN ID: http://shoutbox.menthix.net/attachment.php?pid=132217

I already showed that registry key and the use of it in my Remember Status script. However this is of no use of what has been requested in this thread.



------------------------------

EDIT (because this post is linked to in several other threads):
you can not set your status to idle using
code:
Messenger.MyStatus = 6;
The idle status can be retrieved, but can not be set like this!

The MyStatus property is used to get or set the current status and 6 indicates the idle state.



------------------------------

EDIT: A known and very old method to set your status to Idle on demand is to patch Messenger. The patch consists of replacing an existing status with the Idle status in the protocol code which handles the setting of statusses.

However, doing this will have major drawbacks: say you change the 'Busy' status with the 'Idle' status, any contact who is busy will be shown as idle. Also, you wont be able to set your status to busy anymore either.

Hence I didn't considered this as a solution. However, since KnRd_WC recently used this method to make a patch, it got me thinking again about these drawbacks and how to eliminate them.

So, to overcome these drawbacks, you can use a dirty but simple hack: patch a messenger status, set your status to that patched one, and change the patched status back to what it was. This is exactly what is done in the attached script "Idle on demand".

But note that such simple patch scripts are version specific. They are designed for a particular build (or builds) and will not work on any other (unless they are made generic, but that requires more code and isn't always that easy/possible). The attached script is only compatible with build 8.0.0812, 8.1.0106, 8.1.0168, 8.1.0178, 8.5.0517, 8.5.0601 and 8.5.1018:

Idle on demand (WLM 8.0.0812, 8.1.0106, 8.1.0168, 8.1.0178, 8.5.0517, 8.5.0816 and 8.5.1018 (and very maybe 9.0)

Usage:
    - Select 'Idle' from the Plus! icon submenu for scripts
    - Use the '/idle' command in a conversation.

It will always be updated shortly after a new (public) Windows Live Messenger version comes out (when I got the time!). Please do not alter the script yourself.


;)

Previous downloads: 788

.plsc File Attachment: Idle_on_demand.plsc (2.16 KB)
This file has been downloaded 1527 time(s).

This post was edited on 12-05-2007 at 03:58 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
08-19-2006 07:22 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
bleezer
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
This is exactly what is done in the attached script "Idle on demand".
[...]
Idle on demand (WLM 8.0.0812)
Thanks a lot! :bow: Works fine.. I think this was what I wanted..

This post was edited on 08-19-2006 at 10:09 PM by bleezer.
08-19-2006 10:05 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
artfuldodga
Full Member
***

Avatar

Posts: 178
Joined: Mar 2006
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
works nicely, sweet :)

Would this script, cause problems... after being Signed In to Messenger Servers for awhile? Yesterday after being on Idle for awhile, Messages I Received started coming in as Offline Messages to me... some Offline, some Regular ... and, some Contacts told me I Appeared Offline to them.

This happend before, and was because of Server Problems :) but I didn't know if the Idle script / patch... ? Messed with the Server.

Edit: ok thanks for the reply below cookie, I guess it was a Server problem
08-30-2006 10:21 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
quote:
Originally posted by artfuldodga
Would this script, cause problems... after being Signed In to Messenger Servers for awhile?
no... it does absolutly nothing more than what messenger itself does.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
08-31-2006 11:15 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
~*McoreD*~
Junior Member
**


Posts: 95
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2002
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
This is one fine elite script. Thanks CookieRevised! :)

for WLM 8.0.0812
var AddressList = [0x493AD4];

for WLM 8.1.0106
If we figure out the AddressList value all will work as before?

Thanks,
McoreD

This post was edited on 11-12-2006 at 01:10 AM by ~*McoreD*~.
Don’t say CD’s to say more than one CD. It is CDs.
A 200 GB hard disk has capacity for 186 GiB of data
International standard date notation is YYYY-MM-DD
11-12-2006 01:06 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
quote:
Originally posted by ~*McoreD*~
If we figure out the AddressList value all will work as before?
Yes, the script is made in such a way that all it requires to be compatilble with future version is to add the correct address to that array.

I just updated it (was long overdue)...

.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
11-12-2006 01:43 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
~*McoreD*~
Junior Member
**


Posts: 95
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2002
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
Very nice CookieRevised! :D

Can I ask if this AddressLocation is in msmsgr.exe or someother?
Because in my msmsgr.exe the last addresss was only upto 00562920.
Don’t say CD’s to say more than one CD. It is CDs.
A 200 GB hard disk has capacity for 186 GiB of data
International standard date notation is YYYY-MM-DD
11-12-2006 11:52 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
RaceProUK
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 6073
Reputation: 57
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Oct 2003
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
0x493ad4 < 0x562920 :P
[Image: spartaafk.png]
11-13-2006 12:11 AM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
MicroWay
Senior Member
****

Avatar
Do you want me? Try to get me!

Posts: 571
Reputation: 16
36 / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2006
Status: Away
RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
Idle on demand (WLM 8.0.0812 and 8.1.0106)
Usage:
    - Select 'Idle' from the Plus! icon submenu for scripts
    - Use the '/idle' command in a conversation.

it will be updated if a new windows live messenger version comes out.


Thanks Cookie!!! Download it and it works!!!
(Y)

Just an Sugestion:
Is it possible to move the "Idle" from the Plus! menu to the "clickable" status or the Plus! more statuses menu (on contact list)???

See the image from the attach:
Image / Attachment removed by me!!!

Another question: People that don't have anabled the Plus! opition to "Show contacts as Idle instead of Away when appropriate" (on Plus! > Preferences > Customize), will see the "Artificial Idle"???

Edit: I don't know how it works to you, but I've made a test with a buddy that has Plus! Live too. When he turns off the opition, he sees my status as "Away" and when he turns on again, he sees my status as "Idle"
;)

This post was edited on 11-13-2006 at 02:17 AM by MicroWay.
11-13-2006 12:25 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
~*McoreD*~
Junior Member
**


Posts: 95
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2002
RE: RE: [REQUEST]Idle lies
quote:
Originally posted by MicroWay
Another question: People that don't have anabled the Plus! opition to "Show contacts as Idle instead of Away when appropriate" (on Plus! > Preferences > Customize), will see the "Artificial Idle"???

Edit: I don't know how it works to you, but I've made a test with a buddy that has Plus! Live too. When he turns off the opition, he sees my status as "Away" and when he turns on again, he sees my status as "Idle"
;)


That's exactly what we are after. Without Plus! users wouldn't konw if we are Away/Idle anyways.
Don’t say CD’s to say more than one CD. It is CDs.
A 200 GB hard disk has capacity for 186 GiB of data
International standard date notation is YYYY-MM-DD
11-13-2006 01:14 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Pages: (10): « First « 1 [ 2 ] 3 4 5 6 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On