What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Logitech LED Disable

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
Logitech LED Disable
Author: Message:
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. Logitech LED Disable
There is a way to disable Logitech LED, even if there isn't an option for it in the settings which you can see quoted at the bottom by chillburgh, if anyone can do this it will be really popular from Logitech users. You could add commands like.

/ledoff or /ledon

[Image: ledva6.jpg]


quote:

For QuickCam 11.5.0.1169 and above, LVUVC_LEDControl is located in the following registry key:


    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{6BDD1FC6-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}\0000\Settings


Note - If more than one camera is installed, you will have a "folder" for each device (i.e., 0000, 0001, 0002, etc...).


It has a default Data Value of REG_DWORD = 0x00000005 (5).


Based on your comments, I will assume that the following information is true:

0x00000000 (0) = LED Off
0x00000008 (8) = LED On


Please note that only *certain* cameras support this feature, so the mere addition of this key will not cause the LED Control buttons to appear in the QuickCam® Advanced Settings.

from chillburgh:
quote:
- The LED Control setting shown in that thread does not exist in my Logitech Webcam Software

- The registry entry shown in that thread does not exist in the proper section of my registry

- After manually adding the registry setting and rebooting, the LED was indeed disabled

So if the registery doesn't exist it can be added

Kind Regards,
SourSpud

This post was edited on 11-25-2009 at 11:37 PM by SourSpud.
11-25-2009 10:35 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Logitech LED Disable
I have a feeling that the camera won't be constantly reading the registry to check if it's LEDs should be on. There would be a delay, probably of minutes or hours I would have thought.

It certainly is possible to change the registry keys via a script and would only be around 10-15 lines of code. Why don't you search the forum for how to interact with the registry and give it a go yourself?
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
11-25-2009 11:36 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. RE: Logitech LED Disable
I'm not confident enough to try and tamper with the registery yet mate, I don't trust myself enough lol Also i added a quote from chillburgh which if the registery doesn't exist it can be added. if anyone would like to have a go at this id really appreciate it.

This post was edited on 11-25-2009 at 11:44 PM by SourSpud.
11-25-2009 11:39 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Logitech LED Disable
Not sure if this will work as I don't have the camera. It's a bit longer than I said it would be as I added menus etc incase you wanted to pass it around... Let me know if you want to distribute it and I'll package it into a PLSC file for easy importing.

js code:
var shell = new ActiveXObject('WScript.Shell');

function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message){
    if(Message.search("/ledoff") != -1){
        shell.RegWrite('HKLM\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Class\\{6BDD1FC6-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}\\0000\\Settings\\LVUVC_LEDControl', 0x00000000, "REG_DWORD");
        MsgPlus.DisplayToast("Logitech Webcam", "LEDs Turned off");
        return "";   
    }else if(Message.search("/ledon") != -1){
        shell.RegWrite('HKLM\\SYSTEM\\CurrentControlSet\\Control\\Class\\{6BDD1FC6-810F-11D0-BEC7-08002BE2092F}\\0000\\Settings\\LVUVC_LEDControl', 0x00000008, "REG_DWORD");
        MsgPlus.DisplayToast("Logitech Webcam", "LEDs Turned on");
        return "";
    }
    return Message;   
}

function OnGetScriptMenu() {
        var menu = "<ScriptMenu>";
        menu += "<MenuEntry Id=\"on\">Turn on webcam LEDs</MenuEntry>";
        menu += "<MenuEntry Id=\"off\">Turn off webcam LEDs</MenuEntry>";
        menu += "</ScriptMenu>";
        return menu;
}

function OnEvent_MenuClicked(MenuItemId, Location, OriginWnd){
    if(MenuItemId == "on") OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(null, "/ledon");
    if(MenuItemId == "off") OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(null, "/ledoff");   
}

function OnGetScriptCommands(){
    var ScriptCommands = "<ScriptCommands>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "<Command>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Name>ledon</Name>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Description>Turn on webcam LEDs</Description>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "</Command>";
        ScriptCommands    +=     "<Command>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Name>ledoff</Name>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Description>Turn off webcam LEDs</Description>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "</Command>";
    ScriptCommands    += "</ScriptCommands>";

    return ScriptCommands;
}
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
11-26-2009 12:17 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. RE: Logitech LED Disable
Thanks mate, i'll need to find someone Logitech cam now, mine is broke.. stood on it. Will this add the registery key to disable it if they don't have it like chillburgh?
11-26-2009 12:26 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Logitech LED Disable
quote:
Originally posted by SourSpud
Thanks mate, i'll need to find someone Logitech cam now, mine is broke.. stood on it. Will this add the registery key to disable it if they don't have it like chillburgh?

yes
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
11-26-2009 12:28 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. RE: Logitech LED Disable
What would it require just /ledoff and then if they don't have that registery key it will add it?

Since I can't give REP yet i gave you an internet :P

EDIT: I found someone to test, but he din't have Plus! so he manually added it, he used Logitech Fusion which doesn't support that feature and it worked! but he need to restart, is there a way of letting the user need to know they'll restart for it to work? or is there a way so they don't need to reboot.

This post was edited on 11-26-2009 at 12:58 AM by SourSpud.
11-26-2009 12:32 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Logitech LED Disable
Did he have to restart the entire PC? There may be a way via scripting to restart the process so it does it instantly...
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
11-26-2009 02:03 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. RE: Logitech LED Disable
Yeah, he had to reboot the whole thing. I don't think he knew how to restart the process

quote:
There may be a way via scripting to restart the process so it does it instantly...

That would be alot better than having to restart the pc everytime you enable/disable

after searching the forums i found this http://shoutbox.menthix.net/showthread.php?tid=91673&page=1 for disableing a script in registery, and then just restarted messenger so can't see why restarting the process for this wouldn't work.

if it helps the webcam he used was Logitech Fusion

This post was edited on 11-26-2009 at 05:00 AM by SourSpud.
11-26-2009 02:17 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
SourSpud
Junior Member
**

Avatar
spud, spud, spud, spoon.

Posts: 58
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Nov 2009
O.P. RE: Logitech LED Disable
Hey, Can you restart the process please?
11-27-2009 07:28 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On