Shoutbox

Debugging plugins made with VC++... - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Forum: Plug-Ins (/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+------ Thread: Debugging plugins made with VC++... (/showthread.php?tid=12615)

Debugging plugins made with VC++... by allex87 on 07-09-2003 at 03:00 AM

Does anyone know a way of debugging plugins with the VC++ debugger? And, please, don't tell me to add MessageBox b4 and after the line... i am doing it right now but it's annoying...

VC++ has a nice debugger, I was wondering if and how it can be used to debug :plus2: plugins...

Thanks.


RE: Debugging plugins made with VC++... by Patchou on 07-09-2003 at 05:11 AM

sure... add a call tyo DebugBreak() and select "debug" when you'll get the error message.... when youre in the VC deubbuger, looking at your code, just say to ignore the assertion and youre good to go.

The second sollution is to do something like
while(true)
   Sleep(100); <-- put a breakpoint here

When execution comes to this point, it will freeze.. attach your debugger to the messenger process, you'll break at the Sleep line.. then, just set the next execution point below the Sleep line.

Pick whatever sollution you prefer :)
Patchou


RE: RE: Debugging plugins made with VC++... by Finn on 07-09-2003 at 07:12 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Patchou
sure... add a call tyo DebugBreak() and select "debug" when you'll get the error message.... when youre in the VC deubbuger, looking at your code, just say to ignore the assertion and youre good to go.


exactly what i do,  although i put the break in the initilise function so i can get it into the debugger on plugin startup and can then change whatever i want, put breakpoints where i want etc..
RE: Debugging plugins made with VC++... by allex87 on 07-09-2003 at 01:27 PM

Works great! Thank you!