Shoutbox

Requesting RegTweak to create... - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Requesting RegTweak to create... (/showthread.php?tid=25175)

Requesting RegTweak to create... by Stealth_X on 05-12-2004 at 04:43 PM

...a certain list in my address bar.
Here's what I mean:
In the address bar, everything you type will be remembered. I like to keep mine nice and clean. I usually have about six addresses in there. Whenever someone visits me and uses my explorer, they type in the address bar: I really don't like that, because their addresses will be saved in my bar and I will have to search for my own addresses.
When that happends to me now, I have to go to the "Registry Editor" (run: regedit) and clean it up again. Now my question to you all is: Is there a code that cleans the Registry location there and adds my addresses?
The registry address of the typed URLs is:

code:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\TypedURLs


And when you go there, you will find a list off your typed addresses. You can clean it by selecting some values and pressing delete. But I think you have to rename them to make them a good list again (like: url1, url2, url3 etc.) and not mix them up, at least, that's what I do.
So I'm looking for a RegTweak to clean all of those values and place my own six addresses.

I really hope someone can help me. Thank you all in advance!!!

Ger. Michaël

P.S.: I posted it at Neowin al ready, but no useful (:$) replies so far...

Replies at Neowin:
- Why not add it to your Links button (upper right corner) ? (Dutch: Koppelingen)
          - Because that's the place where all of my e-mail services are stored.
- That's easy, create a batch-file that executes a certain process at startup.
          - I don't want it to start a startup, only when I find useless adresses in my adress bar.
          - I'm no expert at batch-files. So unless I know what I'm doing, that will be my second choice.
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by WDZ on 05-12-2004 at 04:54 PM

Example *.reg file:

code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[-HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\TypedURLs]
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\TypedURLs]
"url1"="http://www.spam.com"
"url2"="http://msgplus.net"
"url3"="c:\\"
"url4"="http://www.neowin.net"
"url5"="http://www.example.com"
"url6"="http://google.com/"
(The - before the key name deletes the key and all it's values)
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Stealth_X on 05-12-2004 at 05:01 PM

Thank you very, very much for the code WDZ!!

Need to know some things about it:
And the line without the ' - ' will make it come back?
Is it completely save to use?


RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by WDZ on 05-12-2004 at 05:06 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Stealth_X
And the line without the ' - ' will make it come back?
Yeah, that will create the key, and then all values listed under it will be placed in that key.

quote:
Is it completely save to use?
I don't know... I guess you'll have to use it at your own risk. :p

It does the job it's supposed to do (clear the list, and replace your 6 urls), but I don't know whether that will mess up IE or something... :-/
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Stealth_X on 05-12-2004 at 05:18 PM

quote:
Originally posted by WDZ
I don't know... I guess you'll have to use it at your own risk. :p
Thanks, I'll try it on someone else's computer first. [Image: xso_grin.gif]

And what about the value all at the top?
It says '(Standaard)  |  REG_SZ  |  (geen waarde ingesteld)' (English: 'Default' or '(Standard)  |  REG_SZ  |  (no value set)' or something similar). Will that one be getting back when I use the Tweak?
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by WDZ on 05-12-2004 at 05:21 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Stealth_X
And what about the value all at the top?
It says 'Standaard' (English: 'Default' or 'Standard' or something similar). Will that one be getting back when I use the Tweak?
Yeah, that's always there in every key... you can't delete it. :p
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Stealth_X on 05-12-2004 at 05:26 PM

In that case:
Thank you for your help!!!

And a tweak for the home page would look like? :

code:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main]
"Start Page"="http://www.google.com/"
"Start Page_bak"="http://www.google.com/"

RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by CookieRevised on 05-12-2004 at 05:54 PM

correct, although "Start Page_bak" isn't needed... (that's just a backup key that some program has made, it isn't an official key from MSIE)


RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Choli on 05-12-2004 at 05:57 PM

just a note:

quote:
Originally posted by WDZ
"url6"="http://google.com/"
each time you need a / you have to write 2: // so that should be

"url6"="http://google.com//"

right?
however, as the last / at urls isn't needed you can just put

"url6"="http://google.com"
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Stealth_X on 05-12-2004 at 05:59 PM

Thanks a lot!

Does anyone perhaps know pages with RegTweaks? Like: http://www.screemer.screemer.nu/Windows%20Stuff/r...ytweaks/index.html

Again, thank you in advance!


RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by WDZ on 05-12-2004 at 06:06 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Choli
each time you need a / you have to write 2: // so that should be

"url6"="http://google.com//"

right?
Really? I thought it was only with backslashes?

The slashes in "http://" aren't doubled... :p

quote:
however, as the last / at urls isn't needed you can just put

"url6"="http://google.com"
Uhh... OK... it's only a random example... :p
RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Stealth_X on 05-12-2004 at 06:11 PM

:D I knew that, I just copied it from the address bar...
But thanks for the info/tip!

More Registry Tweaks/Edits!
http://www.theeldergeek.com/registry_edits.htm


RE: Requesting RegTweak to create... by Choli on 05-12-2004 at 07:31 PM

quote:
Originally posted by WDZ
Really? I thought it was only with backslashes?

The slashes in "http://" aren't doubled...
sorry, yes you're right. I saw http:// and thought about \\ that's why I said a slash was missing at the end

ok ok, it is (or it can be)
"url6"="http://google.com/"
;)