Shoutbox

Cmd Help - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Cmd Help (/showthread.php?tid=31116)

Cmd Help by LoochTheMan on 09-08-2004 at 01:23 AM

i am trying to open some old games of mine that open in MS-DOS mode, but there is an error that always shows up. it did work b4, as well i have two disk drives...E: and C:...i dont know.  Im no computer expert so i need some advice that i can understand...

thanks

P.S, the Popup says :

16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem
E:\WINDOWS\System32\cmd.exe
E:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\AUTOEXEC.NT. The system is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Chose 'Close' to terminate the application.

Close    Ignore

RE: Cmd Help by DJeX on 09-08-2004 at 01:35 AM

ahh ok, this happened to me. Not for sure why it does that. I think it is because of spy ware, but not sure. It seems like the cmd is corrupt. I would try replacing the cmd.exe with a good one. I'm guessing you have Win XP so do a Google for cmd.exe and download and replace your existing one.

RE: Cmd Help by LoochTheMan on 09-08-2004 at 01:51 AM

does anyone know where to download a reliable cmd.exe file?

RE: Cmd Help by DJeX on 09-08-2004 at 02:02 AM

Try your Win XP CD.

RE: Cmd Help by LoochTheMan on 09-08-2004 at 03:22 AM

Ai Ai captain, i will try that when i get out of school tomorow...thnx

RE: Cmd Help by matty on 09-08-2004 at 04:40 AM

quote:
Originally posted by DJeX
Try your Win XP CD.
quote:
Originally posted by LoochTheMan
Ai Ai captain, i will try that when i get out of school tomorow...thnx
That wont work as all files used for Windows XP Installation are compressed.