Shoutbox

MSN msger not working-virus? help me! - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Skype & Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+----- Thread: MSN msger not working-virus? help me! (/showthread.php?tid=32326)

MSN msger not working-virus? help me! by aneta on 09-30-2004 at 10:03 PM

yesterday i got an anti virus disc and it found 131 viruses on my comp!!!
ok, anyway, i can't  make a new account, when my internet won't let me! i'm not very good at it, but what happens when i delete all the cookies?
and i cannot go on hotmail.com because the net won't let me, it says taht i the page cannot be found or displayed!
hmm...does it mean, messanger will never run on my comp again?
its mad i dont know what to do!

RE: MSN msger not working-virus? help me! by RaceProUK on 10-01-2004 at 08:51 AM

First, clean all those viruses off your PC.
Then, find your hosts file (in C:\Windows methinks), and edit it so that only the line '127.0.0.1    localhost' is present.
Hopefully, this will restore at least some of the Internet functionality.

RE: MSN msger not working-virus? help me! by aneta on 10-01-2004 at 03:08 PM

ok so the disc deleted all the 128 viruses, but it says that there 3 moe which it cannot delete for any reason (i have no idea why!)
and everytime when i turn my comp on it says how many and where viruses are found. and it says taht one is found in /mesanger.exe which is probably the reason why it isnt working, but also, it says taht a virus is found in /doors (??) there is a long link before ..../doors.exe" (i think its exe)
and i dont know how to get rid of it.
butt yeah, i will try what to tell me to...now
thanx

RE: MSN msger not working-virus? help me! by user27089 on 10-01-2004 at 03:19 PM

quote:
Originally posted by aneta