Shoutbox

Web services plugin [DEV/BETA] - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Forum: Plug-Ins (/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+------ Thread: Web services plugin [DEV/BETA] (/showthread.php?tid=38152)

Web services plugin [DEV/BETA] by Yousef on 02-09-2005 at 10:18 PM

Well, after I saw Sprinkles' idea about web services, I started coding.
The idea of this plugin is to easily share information from the net with your contacts. For example, by typing "/xparse quote einstein" some quotes of einstein will be sended automatically.
Inspired by TB's talkers I decided to make it a very flexible plugin. People can make scripts to handle different websites. The plugin creates a Microsoft XML Domdocument object from a given url, and then the script can filter out the necessary information. Instead of talkers, I call these scripts 'parsers'. At the moment I created 4 different parsers:

• News parser, grabs the latest news headers from cnn
  • Quote parser, grabs the Quotes of the Day from quotationspage.com, or searches for quotes when an argument is supplied
  • Family guy quote parser, send random quotes from 'The family guy' to your contacts
  • Msgweb news parser, quite useless maybe, but it gets the latest news from my website
  • Azlyrics.com parser, search for lyrics
  • dictionary.com, get the meaning of a word...
  • Parser for http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/ to get the current time in all big cities

For now I didn't make a dll yet, so I can't upload a plugin version, but here is a screenshot of the config window. It clearly illustrates the use of the plugin:

[Image: attachment.php?pid=377804]

I'd like to know
  • what you think of this idea.
  • what features you'd like to see in the final version.
  • what parsers you think would be useful.