Shoutbox

Useless info in Profiles. - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+---- Forum: Forum & Website (/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+----- Thread: Useless info in Profiles. (/showthread.php?tid=38705)

Useless info in Profiles. by matty on 02-18-2005 at 08:25 AM

[Image: attachment.php?pid=384536]


As you see in my screenshot I don't have any contact information. Now for some reason they are links saying that I don't have the specific information available. I don't get why they are actually links? It doesn't make sense to me. What I was thinking was if the user doesn't have any of that information in the profile then hide the specific row and only show ones that have data for them.


RE: Useless info in Profiles. by John Anderton on 02-18-2005 at 08:29 AM

I noticed that too a long time ago but i thought that it'll be difficult to code :S. Whats the difference if it is there ? Do u find it annoying. Also having all the categories in all the profiles give it kinda look which is similar for everyone.


RE: Useless info in Profiles. by matty on 02-18-2005 at 08:38 AM

Well if all the rows are going to stay then atleast there shoudn't be any links saying that the contact does not have yahoo messenger. Its pretty useless. I find it annoying simply because if you have no information technically it shouldn't be a linkl


RE: Useless info in Profiles. by Chestah on 02-18-2005 at 08:39 AM

It seems like a lot of coding for little benefit in my opinon :P


RE: Useless info in Profiles. by RaceProUK on 02-18-2005 at 09:22 AM

Not really tbh: depends on how the MySQL queries are structured, and how the PHP deals with the results. You could have something like this:

code:
if ($queryResult == null)
    put "None";
else
    put "<a ...>"..."</a>";

No, I don't know PHP, OK?
RE: Useless info in Profiles. by saralk on 02-18-2005 at 10:44 AM

well if there is already code that prints "none" then instead of making it say none with  a link, it shouldn't be too hard to change it.


RE: Useless info in Profiles. by surfichris on 02-18-2005 at 10:47 AM

It is to keep the layout uniformed and clean.

Also, if you intended to not display each item depending on the users profile then you'd end up with a lot of new templates and template calls to show or not show the information.

The way it works are the templates use the variables $memprofile[]. $memprofile['icq'] etc. These are pulled straight from the database. To allow easier customisation and everything the link is built in to the templates and when a user doesn't have an ICQ number the following is applied:

code:
if(!$memprofile['icq'])
{
  $memprofile['icq'] = "None";
}


Why? Because its simple and allows more customisation.

"Picky, picky, picky". I don't really see how it is an issue.
RE: Useless info in Profiles. by Eljay on 02-18-2005 at 10:50 AM

it isnt exactly hard to code

code:
if($user['msn'] != "") {
  echo "<the row stuff>";
}
 
RE: Useless info in Profiles. by John Anderton on 02-18-2005 at 10:50 AM

I had seen it a long time and it looks like a javascript. Wait i need to check something.
Yup its a javascript allowing u to add that person directly without much effort. I just read what chris said and i cant see what the prob is as i have said earlier.
It says none doesnt it :S


RE: Useless info in Profiles. by surfichris on 02-18-2005 at 10:57 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Lee Jeffery
it isnt exactly hard to code

    code:if($user['msn'] != "") {
      echo "<the row stuff>";
    }
You're taking away the functionality of the template system and customisation there.

quote:
Originally posted by John Anderton
I had seen it a long time and it looks like a javascript.
It opens a javascript popup window with each account's specifics.

Like I said, why are we being so picky over something so small like this?

I also said it is to keep the layout uniform and nicely spaced out.