Shoutbox

Plugin not turning up :( - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: WLM Plus! Help (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+----- Thread: Plugin not turning up :( (/showthread.php?tid=40666)

Plugin not turning up :( by sladehk on 03-20-2005 at 06:00 AM

I have created the DLL using VB. ITs Draconix.dll and its located in "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 3\Plugins"
I've used the Draconix.reg:

regsvr32.exe /s Draconix.dll

and

Install.reg:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Patchou\MsgPlus2\RegisteredPlugins]
"Draconix Plugin"="Draconix.Sample"

THe vb project names': "Draconix"
the title is : MPPluginVB

i have kept the sample.cls and the other cls and bas

I have not modified the smaple.cls to check whether it works.

DOes any one have any solution?


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by matty on 03-20-2005 at 06:07 AM

Have you tried to relogin to MSN Messenger to reload the plugins?

Or just run this app attached I made that will reload plugins. The other thing is if there is an error in the Initialize routine the Plugin is unloaded and wont show.


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by sladehk on 03-20-2005 at 06:09 AM

It still doen't turn up. What do you mean by an error in the initialize routine?


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by matty on 03-20-2005 at 06:13 AM

quote:
Originally posted by sladehk
It still doen't turn up. What do you mean by an error in the initialize routine?
Public Function Initialize(ByVal nVersion As Long, ByVal sUserEmail As String, ByVal oMessenger As Object) As Boolean
    Initialize = True
End Function


In your Plugin you have that Routine. It is called the Initialization Routine. Now if your Plugin Generates an error it wont be loaded into Plus!.

Feel free to post your Initialization routine and we can see if we can help you out.

quote:
Originally posted by sladehk
I have not modified the smaple.cls to check whether it works.
I just read this part. My suggestion is to restart MSN Messenger itself. Exit it and reopen it.
RE: Plugin not turning up :( by sladehk on 03-20-2005 at 06:17 AM

Initalization:
Public Function Initialize(ByVal nVersion As Long, ByVal sUserEmail As String, ByVal oMessenger As Object) As Boolean
    Initialize = True
End Function


Basically, i haven't changed anything in the sample. I have restarted MSN messenger several times, used some of the dll registers i found in this site but it still doesn't work


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by matty on 03-20-2005 at 06:19 AM

Sorry for not realizing this earlier

quote:
Originally posted by sladehk
regsvr32.exe /s Draconix.dll
This will not work

The default location of your current folder is (On Windows XP) C:\Documents and Settings\%username%
and your dll file is not located at "C:\Documents and Settings\%username%\Draconix.dll"

You need to do this:
Start > run
code:
regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 3\Plugins\Draconix.dll"

RE: Plugin not turning up :( by sladehk on 03-20-2005 at 06:24 AM

I have used that and it says the dll has been registered but it still doesn't turn up. Here are the source code(it is basically ht eoriginal sample code)


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by matty on 03-20-2005 at 06:25 AM

quote:
Originally posted by sladehk
I have used that and it says the dll has been registered but it still doesn't turn up. Here are the source code(it is basically ht eoriginal sample code)
After the DLL is registered you have to reload them. Try the application I attached earlier. Should work after that.
RE: Plugin not turning up :( by sladehk on 03-20-2005 at 06:27 AM

I have reloaded them but it still doesn't work.


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by matty on 03-20-2005 at 06:36 AM

quote:
Originally posted by sladehk
I have reloaded them but it still doesn't work.
Shutdown MSN Messenger
Delete the DLL
Recreate the DLL and save it to the Plugins Dir
Register the DLL (regsvr32 "C:\Program Files\Messenger Plus! 3\Plugins\Draconix.dll"
Restart MSN Messenger

I had absolutly no problems with the Plugin. I Compiled it. Registered it, Ran the reg file and reloaded my plugins. Everything worked fine.
RE: Plugin not turning up :( by sladehk on 03-20-2005 at 06:45 AM

After doing what you told me to do, this is how it looks like:


RE: Plugin not turning up :( by matty on 03-20-2005 at 06:52 AM

Click the first one and click Configure. Does it say it was made by You or Patchou? if it says it was made by You then your plugin you altered is now working. If it says it was made by Patchou then do the following.

Put a check in the second box as well and click Apply. Then run the reload application i posted previously.