Shoutbox

Auto-Reply robot - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Forum: Plug-Ins (/forumdisplay.php?fid=28)
+------ Thread: Auto-Reply robot (/showthread.php?tid=43083)

Auto-Reply robot by la3toot on 04-18-2005 at 05:41 AM

Hi All .. I'm a VB Developer and just touched the MsgPlus Plugin issue and got a good background about making a plugin ..

I want to design a Robot to respond to messages I recieve while being away .. I know that I can make an auto respond , but I want the auto-respond be up to the message I recieve from the contact .

*EXAMPLE :
(contact) : Hi
(AutoRespond) : Hi
(contact) : How are you ?
(AutoRespond) : fine

I have the message-processing code , but what I need to know is how to parse the messages I recieve from one contact in a chatting session and reply to it ? in other words , how can I make a plugin that can read messages I recieve from one contact and reply to it ..

Thanks a lot for your time ..

RE: Auto-Reply robot by Ash_ on 04-18-2005 at 06:03 AM

Hello. Welcome to the Forums.

many developers want to make a bot and so far the Plus! API and the Messenger API does not allow you to find out what messages are recieved. how ever this does not mean it's impossible. i suggest looking up on how to hood windows. there was a certain method shown the me by a regular forum'er which executed the code you want.

if i remember it was a GetWindowText call but i cant remember correctly. look at that call some more and maybe some other hooks. google for 'Getting Text from Window API' etc etc. i suggest AllApi.net they provide a detailed page on each API call and even have examples.

i hope you solve your problem :)

RE: Auto-Reply robot by eckocomplex on 04-18-2005 at 09:22 AM