Shoutbox

IE selection bug - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: IE selection bug (/showthread.php?tid=44090)

IE selection bug by TheGeek on 05-03-2005 at 06:34 PM

Well, I've been working on a new blog the last few days (thats why I haven't been around lately), I designed it for firefox (it should work in all browsers because firefox is standard compliant).

But now, the layout uses lots of <div>'s and css, it works like a charm in Firefox but when you try to select something in IE, the whole site is selected :(.

Does anyone know how to fix this?
I've found out that the bug is in the IE stylesheet on the 12th line.

code:
.center{
    position:absolute;
    left:50%;
    margin-left: -215px;
    width: 430px;
    background-image: url(ie_page_background.gif);
    background-repeat: repeat-y;
}


PS: I'm using 2 stylesheets, one for all browsers and one made for IE.

Thanks!

Edit: DB is down, try this site to see the layout: http://www.mschome.be/cesar/temp
Edit2: MySQL back up :)
RE: IE selection bug by Chris4 on 05-03-2005 at 10:00 PM

It looks fine in Firefox and also looks fine in IE?

I get this message though:

You are reading this because your current browser is old and doesn't fully support the web standard and CSS2. The site might appear to be buggy and broken because the lack of support on your current browser. A standard compliant browser is recommended for viewing this site in the way it is intended to be.

But it doesn't appear to be buggy? Or maybe I havn't noticed it :\


RE: IE selection bug by TheGeek on 05-04-2005 at 11:59 AM

quote:
Originally posted by TheGeek
... but when you try to select something in IE, the whole site is selected :(...