Shoutbox

thumbnail code.... - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: thumbnail code.... (/showthread.php?tid=45512)

thumbnail code.... by TheMusicPirate on 05-30-2005 at 03:55 PM

does anybody know a php picture thumbnail code?

one that i don't need to take the pictures and shrink them down to the size i need?


RE: thumbnail code.... by Veggie on 05-30-2005 at 04:02 PM

I hate to say it but theres loads of PHP thumbnailing codes, there just a google away

edit: first google result- http://phpthumb.sourceforge.net/


RE: thumbnail code.... by user27089 on 05-30-2005 at 04:03 PM

you can just do something like:

code:
<a href="main image"><img src="???" border="1" height="???" width="???" title="Image Thumbnail"></a>

You shouldn't really need PHP.
RE: RE: thumbnail code.... by Veggie on 05-30-2005 at 04:07 PM

quote:
Originally posted by traxor
you can just do something like:

code:
<a href="main image"><img src="???" border="1" height="???" width="???" title="Image Thumbnail"></a>

You shouldn't really need PHP.


If that suggests to use the main image as the thumbnail but resized using html, NEVER do that! the whole reason for thumbnails are so that images can be easily browsed. If the images are large then it will kill 56k users. It is best to use a php code and cache the images.
RE: thumbnail code.... by jren207 on 05-30-2005 at 04:28 PM

Using HTML to resize a picture is pointless and means you have to wait for the whole size of the picture to load, and you may not even view that picture on it's own anyway. Also doing that means that the picture is kinda distorted and doesn't give a good thumbnail anyway.


RE: thumbnail code.... by RaceProUK on 05-30-2005 at 05:14 PM

The pic will be lower quality anyway, even if you use a thumbnail-producing script. Simply because there's less room to shove info into.


RE: RE: thumbnail code.... by TheMusicPirate on 05-30-2005 at 05:22 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Veggie
I hate to say it but theres loads of PHP thumbnailing codes, there just a google away

edit: first google result- http://phpthumb.sourceforge.net/


i have no idea how to setup the script and the GD library.
RE: thumbnail code.... by Veggie on 05-30-2005 at 05:59 PM

if you dont know how to use the GD library you wont be able to have a PHP thumbnail script, i suggest you look at http://www.php.net/gd

Thats the documentation for GD.


RE: thumbnail code.... by jren207 on 05-30-2005 at 07:40 PM

It depends if the server that the page/script is hosted on has GD configured/installed on it. If it's not your server (no access to it's config) then I don't think there's much you can do about it.