Shoutbox

Iframes help - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Iframes help (/showthread.php?tid=45592)

Iframes help by King For A Day on 05-31-2005 at 08:26 PM

i am trying to link one i frame to another but i am having a lot of difficulty
is it possible to do it?

the links in the box main menu come from one page
these are here menu frame
and i want them to link to the corisponding pages and open in the large area.
the large part is named mainsection and the links in the small box are set to target _mainsection

problem site


i hope this makes some sense i have tries to explain as best i can. help is greatly aprciated.

but to be simple is it possible to get one iframe page to open in another?

thankey


RE: Iframes help by jren207 on 05-31-2005 at 08:35 PM

you have named the iframe target  "_mainsection"

code:
<a href="maincontent.html" target="_mainsection">_home</a>


your iframe is named "mainsection"

code:
<iframe   align="top" width="321" height="254" src="maincontent.html" name="mainsection" frameborder="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>


take away the underscore (_)
RE: Iframes help by King For A Day on 05-31-2005 at 08:38 PM

ah dammit ill try thanks

works yay, i knew somthing was wrong.

also if i want the titles form the pages in the large frame to be used instead of the one in the main part can this be done?

these sound like such noob questions but i have never realy used frames before


RE: Iframes help by jren207 on 05-31-2005 at 08:40 PM

it's an easy mistake to make, i wanted to know how to open links in a new window and found target="_blank", you probably got confused with that.. ;)


RE: Iframes help by King For A Day on 05-31-2005 at 09:22 PM

quote:
Originally posted by jren207
it's an easy mistake to make, i wanted to know how to open links in a new window and found target="_blank", you probably got confused with that.. ;)


yeh thats what i was thinking



ill just quote myself cause frames realy confuse me

quote:
Originally posted by King For A Day
ah dammit ill try thanks

works yay, i knew somthing was wrong.

also if i want the titles form the pages in the large frame to be used instead of the one in the main part can this be done?

these sound like such noob questions but i have never realy used frames before

RE: Iframes help by RaceProUK on 05-31-2005 at 09:30 PM

<offtopic query="yes">
Are you on a PHP-enabled host? PHP'd make it a lot easier to do what you want to do.


RE: Iframes help by King For A Day on 06-01-2005 at 07:28 AM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
<offtopic query="yes">
Are you on a PHP-enabled host? PHP'd make it a lot easier to do what you want to do.

as far as i know it isnt, its not my host or site im helping a firend, but although i dont know alot about php i tried to upload a file for a sig image showing recent songs and i got nothing from it so without asking i assume it isnt. so if theres an easier way id like to here it
RE: Iframes help by RaceProUK on 06-01-2005 at 10:14 AM

code:
<html>
<body>
<?php echo 'Hello'; ?>
</body>
</html>
Upload that as page.php, and when you view it, if you see the word 'Hello', the host is PHP-enabled.
RE: Iframes help by King For A Day on 06-01-2005 at 04:46 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
code:
<html>
<body>
<?php echo 'Hello'; ?>
</body>
</html>
Upload that as page.php, and when you view it, if you see the word 'Hello', the host is PHP-enabled.


yup that works http://www.chapmansfilmworks.com/dare/test.php
RE: Iframes help by RaceProUK on 06-01-2005 at 06:08 PM

So now you can consider a PHP-based alternative. Unlike frames, it won't break bookmarks.


RE: Iframes help by jren207 on 06-01-2005 at 06:12 PM

I'd suggest using PHP also.

You can change any part of the page according to it's page like www.mylovelywebsite.com/?page=links

This means you can have one layout for all your pages, and not have separate pages that you would have in the iframe. ;)


RE: Iframes help by King For A Day on 06-01-2005 at 08:45 PM

quote:
Originally posted by jren207
I'd suggest using PHP also.

You can change any part of the page according to it's page like www.mylovelywebsite.com/?page=links

This means you can have one layout for all your pages, and not have separate pages that you would have in the iframe. ;)


yeh but i dont know the first thing about it and wouldnt know where to learn
RE: Iframes help by RaceProUK on 06-01-2005 at 09:41 PM

http://www.php.net
http://www.google.com


RE: Iframes help by King For A Day on 06-02-2005 at 12:37 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
http://www.php.net
http://www.google.com

its not realy what im looking for, though, i just wanted to know if it was possible to use the frame to display the title on a page i have already made, which works great with iframes
RE: Iframes help by absorbation on 06-02-2005 at 12:40 PM

quote:
Originally posted by King For A Day
its not realy what im looking for, though, i just wanted to know if it was possible to use the frame to display the title on a page i have already made, which works great with iframes

If you can do that please contact me :P