Shoutbox

new virus? - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Skype & Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+----- Thread: new virus? (/showthread.php?tid=49565)

new virus? by NiteMare on 08-26-2005 at 10:28 PM

ok, i don't have this virus but a friend does(in a hurry and can't report it), this is what the virus sent me:

hey, look at this:
              hxxp://vbulettin.com/msn.php?email=<Insert the resiprcents e-mail>

then she went offline

she hasn't removed it yet, anybody know how?

RE: new virus? by M73A on 08-26-2005 at 10:32 PM

seems like a virus... but i'm not an expert on anything like it, but i still think it looks like a virus :P

its bit hard to say how to remove it because can't tell what it is..

RE: new virus? by sn1p3r on 08-26-2005 at 10:38 PM

Yep it's definitely a virus, there's loads similar to that floating around MSN now causing many users computers to be infected. Your friend could try looking here for more help on the matter as i don't really have much knowlege of how to remove it, if not try doing a scan with a good virus scanner to see if it picks anything up.

RE: new virus? by Lou on 08-26-2005 at 10:43 PM

I had reported this on mess.be a month back tbh...they posted about it but never an anti-virus :S

RE: new virus? by Sunshine on 08-26-2005 at 10:57 PM

Let her do an online virusscan here ;)

The viruses going around most on MSNM are variants of Kelvir, there's a removal tool for that right here. Read the instructions given on how to use the tool.

RE: new virus? by Dane on 08-27-2005 at 12:05 AM

Submitted this virus to Symantec and McAfee.  Will update you when the results come back.  I am guessing it is W32.Kelvir, as Sunshine said.

RE: new virus? by Dane on 08-27-2005 at 05:52 AM