Shoutbox

Auto Size URL window - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Auto Size URL window (/showthread.php?tid=51623)

Auto Size URL window by shine on 10-10-2005 at 05:30 PM

This is a batch file to open two urls in IE with specific position & size that you want.

start iexplore.exe javascript: resizeTo(1024,240);moveTo(0,0); document.location.href="http://yahoo.com"
PING 1.1.1.1 -n 1 -w 2000>NUL
start iexplore "http://google.com"

But currently XP does not allow this to work(due to security reasons). Does anyone know how to get around it?

The javascript command works perfectly when given in 'favourite' URL  but it does not run from a batch file.

For those who are interested in this..how its done:

javascript: resizeTo(1024,240);moveTo(0,0); document.location.href="http://yahoo.com"

Open the Favorites menu, right-click on an item, and choose Properties. In the URL field, enter the JavaScript command shown above, specify the size and position you want.IE will complain The protocol "javascript" does not have a registered program. Do you want to keep this target anyway? Click on Yes.


RE: Auto Size URL window by Ezra on 10-10-2005 at 06:14 PM

make a local version with that code in it?


RE: Auto Size URL window by shine on 10-11-2005 at 05:00 PM

As I said earlier, it does not run from a batch file. XP automatically closes the opened window


RE: Auto Size URL window by Ezra on 10-11-2005 at 06:39 PM

Works fine for me...

Using XP SP1.

But does it close ie because of the javascript or something else, cause if it's because the javascript then you could make a local file, with a redirect to yahoo and that resizing javascript.

Edit: Just out of curiosity, why open a strange deformed yahoo search, ping to a broadcast ip and trow away the results and open google?


RE: Auto Size URL window by shine on 10-11-2005 at 08:39 PM

Thanks for your response.

Yeah XP SP2 blocks that :sad:

Why open that..hehe ,,thats secret... It is for work purpose. I need few URL to be opened at the same time  and tile them for comparing data..Wants to automate that process. :)


RE: Auto Size URL window by Ezra on 10-11-2005 at 09:02 PM

Try to do it with Visual Basic, it might be a little harder but in the end it will work a lot better than batch files :P