Shoutbox

Probobility Question? MATH - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+---- Forum: General Chit Chat (/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+----- Thread: Probobility Question? MATH (/showthread.php?tid=55821)

Probobility Question? MATH by .Roy on 02-14-2006 at 05:59 AM

Well I just forgot this from when i learned it like 3 years ago -.- And I became curious to find out what the formula is to, well let me explain.

Lets say u have a 60% chance of getting something you want, and you get 2 tries. Whats the chance that in ONE of the tries you will get it.

RE: Probobility Question? MATH by rix on 02-14-2006 at 06:17 AM

Logically it would be 30%?! But heey, im not a rocket scientist.

RE: Probobility Question? MATH by ddunk on 02-14-2006 at 06:26 AM

(6/10)*(6/10) = 0.36

36%

RE: Probobility Question? MATH by .Roy on 02-14-2006 at 07:33 AM

Omfg, Im sorry for being mad when you guys are trying to help. But PLEASE read the fukin question.

I want it to happend once not both times. if it was both times its just the percentage times  percentage like DDunk said.

But thats not the questions, so read it.

RE: Probobility Question? MATH by Plik on 02-14-2006 at 07:52 AM

Probability of it happening just once = 12/25 = 48%
Probability of it happening atleast once = 21/25 = 84%

I think thats right but its been a while since i did maths :P

Its easy to work out using tree diagrams

RE: Probobility Question? MATH by Chrono on 02-14-2006 at 08:18 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Plik
Probability of it happening just once = 12/25 = 48%
(Y) (i think :P)

P(A)=0,6
P(B)=0,6

P(AvB) = P(A)+P(B) - 2*P(A^B) = 0,6 + 0,6 - 2*0,36 =1.2 - 0,72 = 0,48 = 48%

i think that's how you do it :-/ (that would be the probability of getting it JUST on one try (not on AT LEATS one try), it's funny how you can know really advanced maths and forget about such simple stuff :P