Shoutbox

Format C:/ Drive - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Format C:/ Drive (/showthread.php?tid=56556)

Format C:/ Drive by Purity on 03-07-2006 at 01:32 PM

Hey this has to be a super simple thing, but I've never done it before, I'm considering formatting my hardrive, to get rid of everything on my computer.  Does this delete Windows also?  Would I easily be able to install windows again?

Anything I should know about formatting?

RE: Format C:/ Drive by Reaper on 03-07-2006 at 01:34 PM

as long as you have a windows cd, then you can format and reinstall windows easily. you pretty much jusyt follow whats on the screen
there are not many major concerns when formatting using a windows cd

RE: Format C:/ Drive by Kryptonate on 03-07-2006 at 01:35 PM

If you format a hard disk you lose everything on it yes, including Windows if that was placed on that same hard disk. You can reinstall Windows easily by just inserting the Windows cd-rom and booting from it.

RE: Format C:/ Drive by Purity on 03-07-2006 at 01:45 PM

Alright, I thought I would be able to do that, thanks very much.

RE: Format C:/ Drive by Purity on 03-07-2006 at 01:50 PM

About how long does it take to format and reinstall windows?

RE: Format C:/ Drive by RaceProUK on 03-07-2006 at 02:11 PM

Probably a few hours.

RE: Format C:/ Drive by [MR] on 03-07-2006 at 05:59 PM

If you are reinstalling windows xp make sure to call microsoft to get it re activated when you are done or you will not be able to log in windows after 30 days.

RE: Format C:/ Drive by Kryptonate on 03-07-2006 at 06:15 PM

quote:
Originally posted by [MR
]If you are reinstalling windows xp make sure to call microsoft to get it re activated when you are done or you will not be able to log in windows after 30 days.