Shoutbox

Frames - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Frames (/showthread.php?tid=57352)

Frames by Reaper on 03-22-2006 at 11:39 PM

ive got a tagbox which i wanna put on my site but i want it in a frame so its always there no matter what link is pressed. how would i do it using dreamweaver?


RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-23-2006 at 12:10 AM

I would really recommend against frames: they only complicate matters when it comes to bookmarking pages. If you've got a PHP-enabled host, use PHP to include the tagbox in each page ;)


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 11:16 AM

the code for the tagbox is done with html and no php script is given. so , whitout frames, how could i do it?

[Edit] nevermind, i just put the tagbox on everypage manually


RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-23-2006 at 02:01 PM

So every update will have to be applied to all pages manually. Bad idea.
To use PHP to include it, in each page, use

code:
<?php
    include('tagbox.htm');
?>
and put the tagbox code in tagbox.htm ;)
RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 04:09 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
So every update will have to be applied to all pages manually. Bad idea.
To use PHP to include it, in each page, use
code:
<?php
    include('tagbox.htm');
?>
and put the tagbox code in tagbox.htm ;)
that doesnt work :S
RE: Frames by absorbation on 03-23-2006 at 04:12 PM

your page extension must be php and your serve rmust have php installed. Where are you hosting it? :P


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 04:15 PM

sithtoast is my host and he has got php. so i need to rename my pages from index.html to index.php, for example?


RE: Frames by absorbation on 03-23-2006 at 04:18 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
sithtoast is my host and he has got php. so i need to rename my pages from index.html to index.php, for example?

yep, that should do it. :)
RE: Frames by Dempsey on 03-23-2006 at 04:19 PM

Yea or if you have a lot of files you could try using a .htaccess file with:

code:
AddType application/x-httpd-php .html

RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 04:22 PM

yup, that works fine. only one problem though, the tagbox is under my menu blob. how can i make it so its always on the right hand side?


RE: Frames by absorbation on 03-23-2006 at 04:39 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
yup, that works fine. only one problem though, the tagbox is under my menu blob. how can i make it so its always on the right hand side?

Can we see the page? It would help alot, as for that are you including in the right area? :P
RE: Frames by Dempsey on 03-23-2006 at 04:43 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Absorbation

Can we see the page? It would help alot, as for that are you including in the right area? :P
quote:
Originally posted by Reapers Sig

www.theweener.com - My site


RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-23-2006 at 05:12 PM

Put

code:
<?php
    include('tagbox.htm');
?>
where you want it to appear ;)
RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 05:15 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
Put
code:
<?php
    include('tagbox.htm');
?>
where you want it to appear ;)
what you mean. cant do that in dreamweaver can you :S.

and yeh the page is the site in my sig, if you need to see the code i will post it
RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-23-2006 at 05:17 PM

Yes you can: use Source view if necessary :P


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 05:19 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
Yes you can: use Source view if necessary :P
um, source view? :P
lol, the views i have are code, split and design. i cant move it in design as it doesnt show up, obviously, and in code theres no way for me to put in on the right hand side, as thats the place i want it
RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-23-2006 at 05:19 PM

Code View then :P
And there is: you just have to be creative with your <div>s ;)


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 05:23 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
Code View then :P
And there is: you just have to be creative with your <div>s ;)
:dodgy:
i cant put in the right place!
RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-23-2006 at 05:24 PM

Have you even tried? Use CSS.


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-23-2006 at 05:27 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
Have you even tried? Use CSS.
yeh i tried in a few places. and i have no idea to use CSS :P
RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-24-2006 at 12:12 AM

http://www.w3schools.com


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-24-2006 at 03:31 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
http://www.w3schools.com
ive been using that site. would i use the same alignment as if it were text?
RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-24-2006 at 03:58 PM

Look, I'm not going to write your site for you. You'll have to do some of the work yourself. The last thing I'll tell you is to look at the positioning attributes.


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-24-2006 at 04:19 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
Look, I'm not going to write your site for you. You'll have to do some of the work yourself. The last thing I'll tell you is to look at the positioning attributes.
i didnt expect you too. but thanks for the help anyways
RE: Frames by RaceProUK on 03-24-2006 at 11:17 PM

I didn't mean to sound rude, I just wanted you to try things out, experiment. It's the best way to learn ;)


RE: Frames by Reaper on 03-24-2006 at 11:21 PM

quote:
Originally posted by raceprouk
I didn't mean to sound rude, I just wanted you to try things out, experiment. It's the best way to learn ;)
yeh, dont worry. i think i know how to do it now, but ill post if i had any problems :P

[Edit] got it working perfectly, thanks very much