Shoutbox

Programmatically changing display name - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Skype & Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+----- Thread: Programmatically changing display name (/showthread.php?tid=58127)

Programmatically changing display name by RaceProUK on 04-10-2006 at 08:56 PM

First of all, I'm going to list all the suggestions I've considered and  don't wish to use:
- SendKeys()
- SetNewName()
- /nick or /nick2 in a convo window
- ecko_complex's Win32 code
- Anything that uses the Options dialog
- Proxy servers/Anything protocol (TheGeek is excused for suggesting a proxy before this edit ;))
Anyone who suggests them will receive a reply that will reflect my distaste at being ignored. You have been warned.

Right, now that's out of the way, I'll ask my question:
How can I programmatically change the current user's display name?
I currently do this in Phoenix 2 with /nick2, but for Phoenix³ I want the user to be able to restore a display name without opening a conversation.

I've tried getting an IMsgrObject, but of course that's Windows Messenger, and doesn't work in MSN Messenger. So any other suggestions will be good.


RE: Programmatically changing display name by TheGeek on 04-10-2006 at 09:45 PM

I don't know much about programmatically interacting with MSN Messenger, but you could always make a proxy server, and reroute the protocol data through your plugin. Then you can change whatever you want to the commands.


RE: Programmatically changing display name by Stigmata on 04-10-2006 at 10:06 PM

Not possible afaik.

no way to do it.

yeah you could proxy it. but how are you going to tell messenger that you've used the next packet id...


RE: RE: Programmatically changing display name by TheGeek on 04-10-2006 at 10:30 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Stigmata
Not possible afaik.

no way to do it.

yeah you could proxy it. but how are you going to tell messenger that you've used the next packet id...

Start from (2^32)-1 and work your way down.
RE: Programmatically changing display name by RaceProUK on 04-11-2006 at 12:36 AM

quote:
Originally posted by TheGeek
you could always make a proxy server
I suppose I should have added that to the list as well :/
I'd rather not have to go to the trouble of protocol fiddling: there's got to be a way to do it wothout the protocol.
RE: Programmatically changing display name by Patchou on 04-11-2006 at 12:41 AM

A Messenger Plus! Live script? :)


RE: Programmatically changing display name by CookieRevised on 04-11-2006 at 12:55 AM

Just to make it clear (I dont want a "distaste at being ignored" ;))

The reason why you don't want to use SetNewName() is because you want Phoenix³ to be Plus! independant (aka also possible to use without Plus!)? Otherwise, I see no problems in using it...


RE: Programmatically changing display name by RaceProUK on 04-11-2006 at 01:01 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Patchou
A Messenger Plus! Live script? :)
Not quite: a Plus! 3 plugin. I will get some scripts out for MP!L sometime though ;)
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
The reason why you don't want to use SetNewName() is because you want Phoenix³ to be Plus! independant
Not really: it's so the restored name doesn't get the 'reset format' code appended. Meh, if I don't find anything soon, I'll just use SetNewName().

And you'll only be ignored if you mention something in the list. Clarifications will be answered, as evidenced by this post ;)

Edit: I used SetNewName() ao I could at least test the code - it doesn't add the format reset code :S So I guess I can use SetNewName() after all :D