Shoutbox

Website help - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Website help (/showthread.php?tid=59101)

Website help by Reaper on 05-05-2006 at 11:33 PM

I have 2 problems with my site.
First of all, if an image is a link, its messes up the display of the site. Bascially what it does, once the mouse is over the image, all content below it is pushed up.
Example - http://www.theweener.com/
If you out your mouse over the Cam For Sam button, the button underneath it moves up. Thats what I want to stop.

Second of all, I signed up to Google AdSense, but when I place the code on my site, nothing appears. What am I doing wrong?


RE: Website help by rav0 on 05-06-2006 at 02:46 AM

The image doesn't move when I view it (in Opera and Internet Explorer). Have you fixed it?

If it isn't working in another browser, I think that it might be because of the underline border.

code:
a{
border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA;
}
a:hover{
border-bottom: 0px;
}
The border is set to disappear when the link is hovered over. I guess that the problem browser isn't drawing the border properly, and when the link is hovered over, it causes the moving. Try setting border-style to none instead of setting the width to 0px.

I can't see the code for AdSense anywhere on the page.
RE: Website help by RaceProUK on 05-06-2006 at 01:15 PM

Try

code:
a{
border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA;
}
a:hover{
border-bottom: 1px dashed #5F5F5F;
}
instead. It'll change the underline to the same colour as the sidebar.
RE: Website help by Dempsey on 05-06-2006 at 01:21 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
Second of all, I signed up to Google AdSense, but when I place the code on my site, nothing appears. What am I doing wrong?
It can take time for them to spider your site etc, took a day or so for me.
RE: Website help by zaher1988 on 05-06-2006 at 02:12 PM

You have a problem with your contact form.
A visitor can put whatever email and send you the message.
and email without @ or .com .net etc.. should display an error message.

you can have something like

code:

if (stristr($email,"@") === false OR stristr($email ,".") === false)
{
//message here
}


regards
RE: Website help by lordy on 05-06-2006 at 02:22 PM

quote:
Originally posted by zaher1988
..[snip]...

code:

if (stristr($email,"@") === false || stristr($email ,".") === false)
{
//message here
}


I was gunna do this for my website lol! thanks for reminding me :P
RE: Website help by RaceProUK on 05-06-2006 at 05:38 PM

A regular expression may work better.


RE: Website help by Reaper on 05-06-2006 at 06:01 PM

OK, as the noob that I am, when I put the code in Dreamweaver, it displays the code as text instead of actually processing the code. (if you dont understand, look at my sight, and you will see the code).
Also, its only in Firefox I have this problem, I never actually checked in IE, and after checking IE, I realised that the smileys for my tagbox dont ever show up in Firefox, but I fixed the smileys.
What can I do about the code?
Also, about Google AdSense, I removed the code from the file, but i'll add it back in a random place in a sec
I added the Google AdSense code underneath the April 1st news, but doesn't come up


RE: Website help by user35870 on 05-06-2006 at 06:06 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
OK, as the noob that I am, when I put the code in Dreamweaver, it displays the code as text instead of actually processing the code. (if you dont understand, look at my sight, and you will see the code).

You need to put:

code:
a{ border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA; } a:hover{ border-bottom: 0px; }

in your "style.css" file to make it work.
RE: Website help by Reaper on 05-06-2006 at 06:07 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Chr1s
quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
OK, as the noob that I am, when I put the code in Dreamweaver, it displays the code as text instead of actually processing the code. (if you dont understand, look at my sight, and you will see the code).

You need to put:

code:
a{ border-bottom: 1px dashed #AAAAAA; } a:hover{ border-bottom: 0px; }

in your "style.css" file to make it work.
Ah, ok I get you :P

[Edit] raceprouk's code works like a treat!

Now, as for zaher1988's code. How would I put that in?
RE: Website help by RaceProUK on 05-06-2006 at 08:09 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
[Edit] raceprouk's code works like a treat!

Now, as for zaher1988's code. How would I put that in?
It better do: the only thing it does is change the colour!
zaher's code goes wherever processes the e-mail submission.
RE: Website help by zaher1988 on 05-06-2006 at 08:29 PM

Well in the php file you are using for the contact page. exactly in the process where the mail form is being read and on the way to be sent.

Note that the name of the input field you are using should be email.

code:
<input type='text' name='email'>


regards
RE: Website help by Reaper on 05-07-2006 at 09:59 PM

Bit of a bump.
I've sorted the contact form. Now what do I do about the AdSense code?


RE: RE: Website help by rav0 on 05-08-2006 at 12:07 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
Now what do I do about the AdSense code?
[Image: attachment.php?pid=646849]

On your promotion page, you should add the "http://" protocol/server in front and "/" behind the URIs.
RE: Website help by Reaper on 05-08-2006 at 03:15 PM

quote:
Originally posted by rav0
[Image: attachment.php?pid=646849]

On your promotion page, you should add the "http://" protocol/server in front and "/" behind the URIs.
I saw the ads at school :P

uh...URIs? :p

[Edit] I noticed the ads appear in IE and not my Firefox. I have asked other people, they can see the ads in their Firefox. How can I fix this? Adblock was blocking the ads 8-)
RE: RE: Website help by rav0 on 05-09-2006 at 02:35 AM

quote:
Originally posted by Reaper
uh...URIs? :p
Uniform resorce identifiers are the web addresses. I just noticed that they need escaping as well.

From
"www.theweener.com"
to
"http://www.theweener.com/"
and from
"www.theweener.com/images/banner 1.gif"
to
"http://www.theweener.com/images/banner%201.gif"