Shoutbox

[Request] Dice roller! - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Thread: [Request] Dice roller! (/showthread.php?tid=61657)

[Request] Dice roller! by Cryo on 06-26-2006 at 09:19 PM

In the old plus there was a plugin called dice roller for simulating various type of dice!
Somebody can make a script with the same function?
I haven't  knowledge to make it

Thanks to all :)

(excuse me for my english :()


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Rctll on 06-27-2006 at 12:50 AM

I was looking for a nice script to do...  you've just give me a good idea :) I will work on it :) doesn't seem really difficult to script 


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by kilhom on 06-27-2006 at 12:54 AM

oh yes, this is a good idea!


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Rctll on 06-27-2006 at 02:28 AM

Seems to be ok , i'll test and i hope release it tomorrow
i'll try to release it in two languages :)


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by fergofrog on 06-27-2006 at 07:11 AM

What a great idea!


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Cryo on 06-27-2006 at 11:02 AM

Thank you very much Rctll :)


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Jellings on 06-27-2006 at 12:11 PM

Just a thought, but maybe it could give outputs such as the number (1-6 if it was simulating a normal dice) <i>and</i> another output such as :1:, :2:, etc. that could be used for custom emoticons (for example an emote of a side of a dice?)


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by alexp2_ad on 06-27-2006 at 12:30 PM

Fairly simple to do, just a case of doing a nice gui and stuff, all you have to do to get the random number is use:

var diceroll=Math.floor(Math.random()*6) + 1;

Then you can add that into commands, menu items, customizable ways to show it, etc.


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Rctll on 06-27-2006 at 12:35 PM

jellings : Actually this could be done by typing :(!roll):

I hope to release it today , but each time I think it's ok, I think about a new feature to script so...


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Cryo on 06-28-2006 at 07:39 PM

I wanna thanks Rctll for the release and I'd suggest to add the chance to roll more dice of the same type in a only command!
For example:

/Roll 8 2

I get a 8 with a 8 sided dice.
I get a 6 with a 8 sided dice.

etc.


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Rctll on 06-29-2006 at 11:55 AM

That's a good idea, I'll try to script that for the next release . I'll try too to be able to use twice in a message a (!Roll) command (with two diferrent results)


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by rob_botch on 06-29-2006 at 01:07 PM

I wouldn't have thought that that would be too difficult. You could just scan the message for the keyword and then replace it with the result. You could even use a custom function so you could have as many results as you want in a message.

Keep up the good work,


RE: [Request] Dice roller! by Rctll on 06-30-2006 at 02:56 PM

yep but since i use REGEX ( it's easier to retrieve data that way ) there is some ( little don't worry ;)) problem , because of the limitations in Jscript of regex, and because i try to use   less as possible commands and loops