Shoutbox

"Style" - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Thread: "Style" (/showthread.php?tid=63040)

"Style" by wlmcrap on 07-11-2006 at 01:23 PM

How could i make a script like in Styles 1.0? (as shown below)



[Image: untitled.68e.jpg]


RE: "Style" by RaceProUK on 07-11-2006 at 03:15 PM

Use the OnEvent_SendMessage() event (is the name right?), and just do a bit of string manipulation. Should be quite easy to do actually, especially if you use the full power of JScript and the Scripting Engine ;)


RE: "Style" by wlmcrap on 07-11-2006 at 10:18 PM

Could you maybe do it for me, seeing as I'm new to scripting and you said it would be easy?


RE: "Style" by craig2k5 on 07-11-2006 at 10:56 PM

im sure this would be easy :^) all it would be is checking the messsage that is being sent.. then If its a "a" then replace it with an "á"


RE: "Style" by Joereynolds89 on 07-11-2006 at 11:08 PM

if someone could make this be sooo helpful as i have my own style of letters i would like to use in msn :D

EDIT: ive looked through other scripts to get an idea, and i get the idea, but not an easily quick way it would probbaly takes hundreds of lines of code, well a function for each letter, and probably wouldn't work :P


RE: "Style" by craig2k5 on 07-11-2006 at 11:12 PM

Ill Give This a shot *-)


RE: "Style" by Joereynolds89 on 07-11-2006 at 11:25 PM

i got most of it from another forum, i just have the problem of having it repeat, for example i get A by putting a but if i put aaa i get Aaa if that makes sense?


RE: "Style" by Silentdragon on 07-11-2006 at 11:48 PM

This might be relevant to the topic. http://shoutbox.menthix.net/showthread.php?tid=63...d=692420#pid692420


RE: "Style" by wlmcrap on 07-12-2006 at 01:52 AM

Don't worry about making the script, i made it myself just a couple of minutes ago.


RE: "Style" by cloudhunter on 07-13-2006 at 01:25 AM

Care to post the script? I wouldn't mind it ;)

Cloudy


RE: "Style" by wlmcrap on 07-13-2006 at 01:28 AM

Yep! Here you go.


RE: "Style" by ddunk on 07-13-2006 at 01:37 AM

quote:
Originally posted by wlmcrap
Yep! Here you go.
That will only replace the first occurence.
quote:
Originally posted by Joereynolds89
i got most of it from another forum, i just have the problem of having it repeat, for example i get A by putting a but if i put aaa i get Aaa if that makes sense?
You need to use regexps if you want to do that.
See:
Pai's reply to [Help] Replacing Text Using Scripts (I think I'm dumb lol)
and
segosa's reply to [Help] Replacing Text Using Scripts (I think I'm dumb lol)
RE: "Style" by deAd on 07-13-2006 at 01:42 AM

Not really. You can use the String.replace function with a loop.

code:
function replace(s,from,to){
    while (s.indexOf(from) > -1){
        s = s.replace(from,to);
    }
    return s;
}

Then you can say:
code:
var StringToReplace = 'aaaaaaaa';
StringToReplace = replace(StringToReplace,'a','A');

RE: "Style" by CookieRevised on 07-13-2006 at 09:39 AM

quote:
Originally posted by deAd
Not really. You can use the String.replace function with a loop.
Although you indeed can, it is also a bit useless to do that. One should indeed use the regular expression syntax for replacing all occurences of a search string. This is even documented like that in the official MS JScript references. ;)


PS: your example code for the loop will produce wrong results in certain cases. And actually shows why you should not use a loop like that to replace all occurences of a string.