Shoutbox

starting - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Thread: starting (/showthread.php?tid=68047)

starting by ins4ne on 11-04-2006 at 02:34 PM

ok guys. so i decided to start learning j(ava)script. i read that java- and jscript are the same. java-(netscape) and jscript(microsoft). so i wanted to start learning that freaky language. but now i got a problem. i wanted the buy a book like 'javascript for dummies' or whatever. my question: what book can you recommend me? im very new to this so it should have everything in, it should be easy to understand and have a lot of explanations and examples in it...

please dont refer me to msdn or how its called cause i was there and dont get anything of what they talk. + its very confusing.

thanks in advance

ps. i dont know if this is the correct section but i think it is cause it has to do with scripts. maybe its general chit-chat. dont know.

RE: starting by Ezra on 11-04-2006 at 03:35 PM

I suggest www.w3schools.com, it's more web based but if you get the hang of it, you should be able to understand the scripting documentation.

RE: starting by ins4ne on 11-04-2006 at 03:38 PM

w3schools.com... i think i was there once when i wanted to learn html. is this possible? yup it is :P but i gave it up cause it was too

quote:
Originally posted by ins4ne
confusing
ill have a look though. btw im downloading 'javascript in 21 days'. is it a good one?
RE: starting by Ezra on 11-04-2006 at 03:48 PM

quote:
ill have a look though. btw im downloading 'javascript in 21 days'. is it a good one?

I don't know what that is, but if you thought html was confusing... then good luck!
RE: starting by ins4ne on 11-04-2006 at 03:49 PM

no i didnt think html was confusing. i thought the site was confusing