Shoutbox

Grandpa wont stop smoking HELP - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=11)
+---- Forum: General Chit Chat (/forumdisplay.php?fid=14)
+----- Thread: Grandpa wont stop smoking HELP (/showthread.php?tid=70642)

Grandpa wont stop smoking HELP by Steven on 01-13-2007 at 07:07 PM

Hi, i can't take it anymore, my  Grandpa has been smoking since 18, and not surprisingly he had a operation at the age of 50 where the doctors took his leg vain and put it to his heart or something dont ask im not a doctor, but he still smnoked after that! Hes the only 1 that smokes, and i do not know what to do...... He says he doesnt smoke that much, but really every 5 minutes i hear the door opening and him going outside and puffing...... Doctor said he has 5 years, hes 69 right now and the doctor said that 3 years ago.., i am very sad.....

RE: Grandpa wont stop smoking HELP by Nathan on 01-13-2007 at 07:12 PM

My mum and dad both smoke :(
My dad is currently in hospital becuase of it mainly he smokes about 40 a day! And even though he is really trying e.g
he has given up beer and unhealthy foods. he wont stop smoking... yet.
He's stubborn and if someone doesnt want too there's no point forcing then becuase it has no effect on them at all.

This may sound a bit harsh:
If your grandad has 2 years to live then your grandad doesnt need to stop smoking, either way he's going to die soon. So he will want to enjoy the rest of his life with you, his family and relatives and of course smoking.

So there is no point trying
I am very sorry to hear this btw and spend as much time with him as you possibly can and make his last few years enjoyable.

And.
Doctors and always right;
e.g My mums grandad smoked 80 a day and drank he lived till 97 even though the doctor said he had 4 years to live when he was 75
just goes to show.

Regards,
Nathan