Shoutbox

Retrieving and Displaying Webpages - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Thread: Retrieving and Displaying Webpages (/showthread.php?tid=71515)

Retrieving and Displaying Webpages by ScM on 02-08-2007 at 07:33 PM

I was trying to write a script that would allow me to open and display the contents of a website inside of an MP!L window, but this proved harder than expected! I'm an experienced web designer/coder (PHP + MySQL) but I'm practically useless when it comes to XML :(
(I also tried opening a window in IE but cannot seem to figure out why i can't get it to open...) I have deleted most of my code and all I have now is the code to open the MP!L window...

I was hoping someone could show me some example codes that would allow me to open pages in an MP!L window... Any help would be much appreciated

-ScM (Please pardon my spelling/structure as I am dyslexic)

RE: Retrieving and Displaying Webpages by roflmao456 on 02-08-2007 at 10:22 PM

you cannot have browser windows in a MP!L window..

no control for it ;0 already asked this question... Search!

;)

RE: Retrieving and Displaying Webpages by ScM on 02-09-2007 at 01:07 AM

Thats not what I was looking for! :P I wanted the content from a site, not the window itself, as if it were just a .txt file retrieved from another location. I was looking for something similar to the myspace new message checker, but one that actually displayed the data it retrieved... ( I am working on modding that script to see if it can be done, but I havent gotten anywhere...)

The browser window comment was 'geared' more towards opening a site in IE or Firefox, not using one in MP!L...

RE: Retrieving and Displaying Webpages by deAd on 02-09-2007 at 01:23 AM

Do you want the actual page source?

code: