Shoutbox

Status when locked - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: WLM Plus! General (/forumdisplay.php?fid=23)
+----- Thread: Status when locked (/showthread.php?tid=81584)

Status when locked by bimmerdriver on 02-11-2008 at 06:08 AM

I noticed that when MsgPlus! is locked, the status goes to whatever it's configured to in MsgPlus!, regardless of whether I'm currently online, busy, or whatever. I have it set to Be Right Back in case I need to lock during a conversation. However, I like to use the lock even when I plan to go away from my computer for an extended period of time, say overnight. When I do that, I set my status to Away, but I just noticed by testing with two accounts that the Away status is forced to Be Right Back when it's locked which isn't the case. It would be nice if MsgPlus! would provide an option to only change the status for open conversations and if the status is online, otherwise, leave it alone (e.g., if I set it to away, leave it as away until I unlock and change it to online).


RE: Status when locked by Justin on 02-12-2008 at 10:05 PM

I thought i posted on this :S

Plus! > preferences > messenger > messenger lock.

Untick the 'change my status to' then set the status you want, it should not change to default when you lock messenger.


RE: Status when locked by Quantum on 02-12-2008 at 10:17 PM

Plus! Icon. > Preferences. > Messenger. > Messenger lock.

Uncheck "change my status to ..." then apply.

EDIT: Bet.


RE: Status when locked by Jesus on 02-12-2008 at 11:01 PM

that's not exactly what the topic starter asked for if I'm not mistaken.

Just to get this clear: When you lock messenger, you want to change the status to brb only if your current status is set to online. If you lock messenger with another status set, it should not change your status.

If this is what you want then it can probably be done with a script.


RE: RE: Status when locked by bimmerdriver on 02-17-2008 at 10:28 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Jesus
Just to get this clear: When you lock messenger, you want to change the status to brb only if your current status is set to online. If you lock messenger with another status set, it should not change your status.

If this is what you want then it can probably be done with a script.
That's exactly what I mean. I use MsgPlus to lock it when I go away from my computer. The way MsgPlus forces the status to BRB irrespective of what the status is doesn't work very well for that. I only want to use BRB if I'm online. Otherwise, just leave the status as-is and lock it down. If there is a way to do that with a script, that would be great.
RE: RE: Status when locked by pollolibredegrasa on 02-17-2008 at 11:03 PM

Uncheck the option mentioned earlier in the thread, as this will stop it changing your status when you go into lock.

Then, create a script with the following code:

code:
function OnEvent_MessengerLocked(){
    if (Messenger.MyStatus == 3){
        Messenger.MyStatus = 5; //Set to BRB
    }
}

This will simply set your status to brb whenever your status is online and you lock messenger. (You'll need to manually change your status though when you unlock however)


Hope this helps :)
RE: RE: RE: Status when locked by bimmerdriver on 02-18-2008 at 04:46 AM

quote:
Originally posted by fatfreechicken
Uncheck the option mentioned earlier in the thread, as this will stop it changing your status when you go into lock.

Then, create a script with the following code:
code:
function OnEvent_MessengerLocked(){
    if (Messenger.MyStatus == 3){
        Messenger.MyStatus = 5; //Set to BRB
    }
}

This will simply set your status to brb whenever your status is online and you lock messenger. (You'll need to manually change your status though when you unlock however)


Hope this helps :)
Thanks a lot for the help. I'm a newb with scripts so I have a question about how to use it. Do I have to load and execute it each time I start up WLM or is there a way to get MsgPlus to load/execute it when it starts?
RE: Status when locked by RaceProUK on 02-19-2008 at 02:16 AM

Once you've created the script and saved it, just ensure the Scripts window shows it as 'Enabled' ;)


RE: RE: RE: Status when locked by Jesus on 02-19-2008 at 04:12 AM

quote:
Originally posted by fatfreechicken
(You'll need to manually change your status though when you unlock however)
I added some code to fix this
code:
ChangedOnLock = false

function OnEvent_MessengerLocked(){
    if (Messenger.MyStatus == 3){
        Messenger.MyStatus = 5; //Set to BRB
        ChangedOnLock = true;
    }
}

function OnEvent_MessengerUnlocked(){
    if (Messenger.MyStatus == 5 && ChangedOnLock == true){
        Messenger.MyStatus = 3; //Revert to Online
        ChangedOnLock = false;
    }
}
This will only revert your status to Online if it was set to BRB by this script while locking messenger.