Shoutbox

<noscript> - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: <noscript> (/showthread.php?tid=85646)

<noscript> by djdannyp on 08-28-2008 at 10:32 PM

Okay, I just can't figure this one out.

After all the talk of validation, etc for websites I decided to run my new one, www.footballweeklies.co.uk, through it and I keep getting the same error on all my pages

I have several <noscript> tags, obviously for browsers which don't support javascript.....inside these tags are embedded swf objects

However in the validation check it keeps coming up saying that the tags are invalid....and indeed i tried removing the script file to make it show the embedded object and it doesn't work

below is an example....can anyone help?

code:
<script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','194','height','210','movie','menu/dropmenu','quality','high' ); //end AC code
</script>
<noscript>
<object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="194" height="210">
        <param name="movie" value="menu/dropmenu.swf" />
        <param name="quality" value="high" />
</object>
</noscript>


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-28-2008 at 11:20 PM

Only warning I get is about an empty <h1> container. Otherwise my validator says the content appears to be strict, even though you use the transitional doctype.

Running it through w3c it says you may have placed the <noscript> tag inside a block level element

quote:
Line 24, Column 18: document type does not allow element "noscript" here; missing one of "object", "applet", "map", "iframe", "button", "ins", "del" start-tag

The mentioned element is not allowed to appear in the context in which you've placed it; the other mentioned elements are the only ones that are both allowed there and can contain the element mentioned. This might mean that you need a containing element, or possibly that you've forgotten to close a previous element.

One possible cause for this message is that you have attempted to put a block-level element (such as "<p>" or "<table>") inside an inline element (such as "<a>", "<span>", or "<font>").


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-28-2008 at 11:33 PM

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fww..._Validator%2F1.591


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-28-2008 at 11:34 PM

Already updated my post.


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-28-2008 at 11:38 PM

code:
<div id="sidebar1">
    <h3>Contents
      <script type="text/javascript">
AC_FL_RunContent( 'codebase','http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0','width','194','height','210','movie','menu/dropmenu','quality','high' ); //end AC code
</script><noscript><object classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,28,0" width="194" height="210">
        <param name="movie" value="menu/dropmenu.swf" />
        <param name="quality" value="high" />
      </object></noscript>
    </h3>
  </div>

there's the entire section that the code is in.  i don't know what i can do to fix it
RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-28-2008 at 11:42 PM

Try putting the noscript tags inside the object tags


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-28-2008 at 11:49 PM

yeah, i tried that, it doesn't work :(


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-29-2008 at 12:00 AM

You should have <!-- --> surrounding the Javascript code, just inside the actual script tags. Don't think it'll make a difference, just means older browsers won't get crap text lol

It seems to work outside the <h1> tags (delete the tags). This goes back to my first post about block level elements :p

EDIT: In fact, change the <h1> tags (only the ones surrounding those two objects) to <p> tags, change the DOCTYPE and it'll comply to Strict then :p


RE: <noscript> by MeEtc on 08-29-2008 at 12:05 AM

I've had this problem before too. Put the whole <noscript> in a <div> and I think it will be OK. Also, you should avoid using comment blocks inside of the <script> tag, its a no-no in xhtml


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-29-2008 at 12:32 AM

okay, i'm fiddling around and seeing where i can get to.  managed to get the index.html to validate as transitional by changing the <h1> tags to <div>s

is it better to be strict than transitional?

can't say i know too much about that side of it, haha


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-29-2008 at 05:54 PM

quote:
Originally posted by djdannyp
okay, i'm fiddling around and seeing where i can get to.  managed to get the index.html to validate as transitional by changing the <h1> tags to <div>s

is it better to be strict than transitional?

can't say i know too much about that side of it, haha

I would have thought strict was better. I suppose as long as it validates it's ok. Transitional is for websites bringing the code up to meet strict validation

RE: <noscript> by prashker on 08-29-2008 at 06:07 PM

You want strict and not traditional :p


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-29-2008 at 07:21 PM

Okay, I changed it to strict and tried putting all of the <noscript> bits inside <p> but it still comes up with the same error


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-29-2008 at 09:03 PM

Here it is, all working...


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-29-2008 at 11:22 PM

hmm, this is puzzling

the homepage does indeed validate as strict

however each other page shows 1 error, the same <noscript> one....however each page features 2 sets of <noscript> tags..and they're formatted in the same way as the homepage, with the <p> tags inside them.

the homepage is also the only page that works when i remove the script file (this forcing it to run the noscript section)


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-29-2008 at 11:27 PM

have you changed the doctypes on the other files?


RE: <noscript> by djdannyp on 08-29-2008 at 11:40 PM

found the problem

the whole scripting section at the top was accidentally being included in the <h3> tag.

moved the closing tag to where it should be and now all the pages validate as strict

i'm not gonna break any browsers, woo :D


RE: <noscript> by Spunky on 08-29-2008 at 11:49 PM

Glad I could help. I learned a lot too (this is the first time I've even tried to validate anything :p)


RE: <noscript> by Jarrod on 08-30-2008 at 01:38 AM

quote:
Originally posted by SonicSam
You want strict and not traditional :p
*transitional not traditional