Shoutbox

Plus! & WLM 2009 on XP - remove ads - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: WLM Plus! Help (/forumdisplay.php?fid=12)
+----- Thread: Plus! & WLM 2009 on XP - remove ads (/showthread.php?tid=88397)

Plus! & WLM 2009 on XP - remove ads by jason_wrangler on 01-13-2009 at 05:29 PM

Hello. I am new to Messenger Plus! but am extremely excited about the possibilities.  I installed the latest "beta" version of Plus! to work with WLM 2009 on XP sp3. 

Is there a way to remove ads from the WLM contacts window and from the chat window?  Do skins provide this option?  I got the Plus! Patch from mynetx and it can remove ads but doesn't really change the appearance of messenger.

I tried to search the forum but it does not permit searches with less than four letters, e.g., "ads". Thus, the new thread. 

I would appreciate any help added to this thread to share advice/suggestions for skins that work well with WLM 2009 on XP and are capable of removing/disabling the annoying advertisements in WLM.  Thank you.8-|

RE: Plus! & WLM 2009 on XP - remove ads by blessedguy on 01-13-2009 at 05:39 PM

We can't remove/hide them...
maybe this skin with this .reg file can help you **forgetting** them .

(and if you had read search instructions first, you would have discovered that you could search for "ads", with the quotes)

RE: Plus! & WLM 2009 on XP - remove ads by janlukaz on 01-13-2009 at 09:21 PM

Oh but we can, google around a tool called A-Patch. It's more magical than it seems. Though you have to do this quick, because I'm not sure if it's allowed to point this kind of program (that modifies what wasn't meant to be modified.) Yes it wasn't meant to be modified, WLM is only free because it has ads, so either this post will be deleted soon, or it'll be edited by mods.