Shoutbox

Creating a Command? - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Scripting (/forumdisplay.php?fid=39)
+----- Thread: Creating a Command? (/showthread.php?tid=92428)

Creating a Command? by Samo502 on 10-01-2009 at 05:37 PM

Javascript code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message)
{
    if(Message.substring(0, 6) == "/dispc")
    {
        var Contacts = Messenger.MyContacts;
        var e = new Enumerator(Contacts);
        for(; !e.atEnd(); e.moveNext())
        {
            var Contact = e.item();
            var status = Contact.Status;
            switch(status)
            {
                case 1:
                    status = "Offline";
                    break;
                case 3:
                    status = "Online";
                    break;
                case 4:
                    status = "Busy";
                    break;
                case 5:
                    status = "BRB";
                    break;
                case 6:
                    status = "Idle";
                    break;
                case 7:
                    status = "Away";
                    break;
                case 8:
                    status = "In A Call";
                    break;
                case 9:
                    status = "Eating";
                    break;
            }
            if(status == "Online")
            {
                ChatWnd.SendMessage("[N]" + Contact.Name + " is " + status + "[/N]");
            }
        }
    }
}

I'm trying to make a script to display my online contacts, and it works great but I don't know how to make a window come up with it or actually create a command so I used substring and SendMessage.
RE: Creating a Command? by m0nst3rkill3r on 10-01-2009 at 05:41 PM

Javascript code:
function OnGetScriptCommands()
{
    var ScriptCommands = "<ScriptCommands>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "<Command>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Name>command</Name>";
    ScriptCommands    +=         "<Description>DISCRIPTION</Description>";
    ScriptCommands    +=     "</Command>";
    ScriptCommands    += "</ScriptCommands>";
 
    return ScriptCommands;
}
 
 


Think about, that the command[name] have to be the same with

Javascript code:
if (Message.toLowerCase() == "/command"){
return "BLAH";
}


That's how i do it.
RE: Creating a Command? by matty on 10-01-2009 at 05:44 PM

Class file

Javascript code:
/*
 * -----
 * Screenshot Sender - command_class.js
 * -----
 * Command class for Screenshot Sender
 * -----
 */

 
var Commands = function() {
    this.Commands = '';
}
 
Commands.prototype = {
    /*
        Name:   AddCommand
        Purpose:    Adds a custom command to Plus!
        Parameters: sCommand - The command to add
                    sDescription - A description of the command
                    sParameter - Any additional optional parameters
        Return: None
    */

    "AddCommand" : function(sCommand, sDescription, sParameter) {
        this.Commands += '<Command>'+
                            '<Name>'+sCommand+'</Name>'+
                            '<Description>'+sDescription+'</Description>'+
                            (typeof sParameter === 'undefined' ? '' : '<Parameters>&lt;'+sParameter+'&gt;</Parameters>')+
                         '</Command>';
    },
   
    /*
        Name:   ExportCommands
        Purpose:    Export the Plus! commands in xml form
        Parameters: None
        Return: XML formed Plus! commands
    */

    "ExportCommands" : function() {
        return '<ScriptCommands>'+this.Commands+'</ScriptCommands>';
    }
}


Usage:
Javascript code:
function OnGetScriptCommands(){
    var bEnabled = (Messenger.MyStatus > STATUS_INVISIBLE);
   
    var oCommand = new Commands();
 
    with(oCommand) {
        if ( bEnabled === true ) {
            AddCommand('mycommand', 'my command description', 'optional parameter');
            AddCommand('mycommand2', 'my second command description');
        return ExportCommands();
    }  
}


RE: Creating a Command? by Samo502 on 10-01-2009 at 05:47 PM

It works now to a point, it brings up my command in the list but when I hit enter it says it isn't a command.


RE: Creating a Command? by matty on 10-01-2009 at 06:10 PM

What code did you use and can you post it?


RE: Creating a Command? by Samo502 on 10-01-2009 at 06:12 PM

Javascript code:
function OnGetScriptCommands()
{
    var bEnabled = (Messenger.MyStatus > STATUS_INVISIBLE);
   
    var oCommand = new Commands();
 
    with(oCommand) {
        if ( bEnabled === true ) {
            AddCommand('dispc', 'Displays online contacts in the current chat.');
        return ExportCommands();
    }  
}
}
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message)
{
    if (Message.toLowerCase() == "/dispc")
    {
        var Contacts = Messenger.MyContacts;
        var e = new Enumerator(Contacts);
        for(; !e.atEnd(); e.moveNext())
        {
            var Contact = e.item();
            var status = Contact.Status;
            switch(status)
            {
                case 1:
                    status = "Offline";
                    break;
                case 3:
                    status = "Online";
                    break;
                case 4:
                    status = "Busy";
                    break;
                case 5:
                    status = "BRB";
                    break;
                case 6:
                    status = "Idle";
                    break;
                case 7:
                    status = "Away";
                    break;
                case 8:
                    status = "In A Call";
                    break;
                case 9:
                    status = "Eating";
                    break;
            }
            if(status == "Online")
            {
                ChatWnd.SendMessage("[N]" + Contact.Name + " is " + status + "[/N]");
            }
        }
    }
}

Also your class file is there too, copied and pasted in another file.
RE: Creating a Command? by CookieRevised on 10-01-2009 at 06:36 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Samo502
It works now to a point, it brings up my command in the list but when I hit enter it says it isn't a command.
That's because you need to tell Messenger Plus! that you've actually processed the command. Otherwise it will think there wasn't any script which processed it and thus will show you the error.
(note that this behaviour only occurs with text strings starting with / , thus so called 'commands')

Remember that many scripts can run at the same time. So, if one of those scripts processes a specific command, you need to tell Plus! that. Otherwise it simple launches the next OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage function from the next script until there are no OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage functions anymore.

Not telling Plus! that you've processed the command is the same as ignoring it and thus the same as not processing it as far as Plus! is concearned. And thus Plus! will think there is no such command.

Now, to tell Plus! that you have processed the command (or text line for that manner), you simply end your processing by returning the string you want to see in place of the entered string/command.

If you simply want the command string to do something without actually sending the command string to your contact you return with an empty string:
    Return ""

If you want the command string to be replaced by another string and then be send to your contact, you return with the new string:
    Return "I just entered a command"

Returning with a string (even if it is empty) will tell Plus! that your script has processed the recieved text line and thus 'accepted' the command in case it was a command.

Also all explained in the Scripting Docs > Index > OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage
quote:
Return Value:
A string containing the message to be sent instead of Message. If you do not want to modify the message, simply return Message without changing it. No size restriction applies to the new message except for the maximum size allowed by Messenger. If the event handler returns an empty string, the message is ignored and not sent to the server.



;)

JScript code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message)
{
    if (Message.toLowerCase() == "/dispc")
    {
        for(var e = new Enumerator(Messenger.MyContacts); !e.atEnd(); e.moveNext())
        {
            var Contact = e.item();
            var status = Contact.Status;
            switch(status)
            {
                case 1:
                case 2:
                    status = "Offline";
                    break;
                case 3:
                    status = "Online";
                    break;
...
...
                case 9:
                    status = "Eating";
                    break;
            }
            if(status == "Online")
            {
                ChatWnd.SendMessage("[N]" + Contact.Name + " is " + status + "[/N]");
            }
        }
    Return "";
    }
}

PS: - note that this code can be simplified a lot using arrays.
- Also, before using the SendMessage function you should test if you actually can send a string back because it is not always possible.
- You forgot to include case 2 in the switch.

RE: Creating a Command? by Samo502 on 10-01-2009 at 06:51 PM

quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised

Also, before using the SendMessage function you should test if you actually can send a string back because it is not always possible
Meaning?

@the comment about forgetting case 2
STATUS_OFFLINE (1)
STATUS_ONLINE (3)
STATUS_BUSY (4)
STATUS_BRB (5)
STATUS_IDLE (6)
STATUS_AWAY (7)
STATUS_INCALL (8)
STATUS_OUTLUNCH (9)

It had no need being there since there is no enumeration for 2, it skips it in the statuslist.

RE: Creating a Command? by CookieRevised on 10-01-2009 at 06:56 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Samo502
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised

Also, before using the SendMessage function you should test if you actually can send a string back because it is not always possible
Meaning?
Scripting Docs > Index > ChatWnd:: SendMessage tells you:
quote:
Remarks:
If the text being set is longer than the maximum allowed (typically 1100 characters), it is truncated. If the typing area already contains text when this function is called, it is saved before the message is sent and automatically restored after that. The EditChangeAllowed property should be checked before this function is called.
Thus:

JScript code:
if (ChatWnd.EditChangeAllowed) {
    ChatWnd.SendMessage("[N]" + Contact.Name + " is " + status + "[/N]")
}


quote:
Originally posted by Samo502
It had no need being there since there is no enumeration for 2, it skips it in the statuslist.
true, but for completeness sake (and maybe for futur compatibility) you can put it there (just as I showed in the example code, only 1 extra line).

Note that there actually is an enumeration constant for that. See Scripting Docs > Index > Messenger:MyStatus:
quote:
STATUS_INVISIBLE (2)

;)
RE: Creating a Command? by matty on 10-01-2009 at 07:56 PM

This is how I would do it:

Javascript code:
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage ( oChatWnd , sMessage ) {
    if ( /\/dispc$/.test ( sMessage ) ) {
        var oStatusCount = {};
        for ( var oContact = new Enumerator ( Messenger.MyContacts ) !oContact.atEnd( ); oContact.moveNext( ) ) {
            ++oStatusCount [ oContact.item( ).Status ];
        }
       
        var s = 'Offline: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_INVISIBLE ]+'\n'+
                'Online: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_ONLINE ]+'\n'+
                'Busy: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_BUSY ]+'\n'+
                'BRB: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_BRB ]+'\n'+
                'Idle: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_IDLE ]+'\n'+
                'Away: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_AWAY ]+'\n'+
                'In a call: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_INCALL ]+'\n'+
                'Eating: '+oStatusContact [ STATUS_OUTLUNCH ]
        if ( oChatWnd.EditChangeAllowed === true ) return s;
    }
}