Shoutbox

Windows 7 Clean Install - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Tech Talk (/forumdisplay.php?fid=17)
+----- Thread: Windows 7 Clean Install (/showthread.php?tid=92432)

Windows 7 Clean Install by MC Inferno on 10-01-2009 at 10:26 PM

Hey Guys

Right, I've got a DVD of Win7 and I want to do a clean install (before you ask, I'm very sure, and I've backed up my files!)

Now, when I insert the disk, it wont let me delete vista, it only lets me go to install paritition 3 (my second hard drive). It says to get rid of vista, I need to reboot Vista from my boot disk. I remember changing OS in the past, and I'm sure I was able to do this without a multiboot. Dont fancy fucking about in BIOS because I'm not that good with it, so is there anyway to make Win7 do the hard work for me?

RE: Windows 7 Clean Install by blessedguy on 10-01-2009 at 10:43 PM

The installer is just asking you to reboot with the DVD inside, the DVD will boot the Windows 7 setup if I recall correctly.

RE: Windows 7 Clean Install by MC Inferno on 10-01-2009 at 10:50 PM

Ohhh... Right ok. Ill give that a try. If I dont post in ten mins or so, assume its worked, and I'm kissing goodbye to bullshit Vista!

EDIT: never worked. Should I try shutting down with Win7 disc in the DVD drive then restart and hold F12 to select booting form disk instead? Sorry to sound painfully obvious, just dont want to fuck up my PC as you can imagine. BIOS is scary! haha!

RE: Windows 7 Clean Install by blessedguy on 10-01-2009 at 11:01 PM

quote:
Originally posted by MC Inferno
EDIT: never worked. Should I try shutting down with Win7 disc in the DVD drive then restart and hold F12 to select booting form disk instead? Sorry to sound painfully obvious, just dont want to fuck up my PC as you can imagine. BIOS is scary! haha!

I guess yes.