Shoutbox

A bit help with skinning - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+---- Forum: Skinning (/forumdisplay.php?fid=41)
+----- Thread: A bit help with skinning (/showthread.php?tid=97441)

A bit help with skinning by Zannen on 04-23-2011 at 05:20 PM

Hey all, im a bit new to skinning, but read all the tutorials and i understand most of the things, even tried playing with stuff. I just wanted to ask a bit how to remove or reedit a certain window in msn 2009 if that is possible, and if anyone can pm me or join me on irc so i can ask questions face to face, Thanks.
I want to remove the news feed above the ad, but dont know how. Dont know which part in the styles, or somewhere else refers to that window.

RE: A bit help with skinning by blessedguy on 04-23-2011 at 10:50 PM

You can remove that in Messenger's own preferences :) Preferences > Layout > Show "what's new"

RE: A bit help with skinning by Zannen on 04-25-2011 at 09:27 PM

Yeah...i figured that out myself. How about adding a new element into a definition or style file? Will there be any problems if i do so, or is there something i need to really be carefull when doing so?

RE: A bit help with skinning by Nagamasa on 04-25-2011 at 09:33 PM

quote:
Originally posted by Zannen
Yeah...i figured that out myself. How about adding a new element into a definition or style file? Will there be any problems if i do so, or is there something i need to really be carefull when doing so?
Not really, as long as you close the element correctly (i.e., properly nested).

There are a few funky things that you might encounter while you skin where more "unique" content (e.g., PSM area) messes up.
RE: A bit help with skinning by Zannen on 04-25-2011 at 09:37 PM