What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work

Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
Author: Message:
Guffy
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
O.P. OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
Hi all
I made simple script
code:
function OnEvent_Initialize(MessengerStart)
{
    Debug.Trace("Trace OnEvent_Initialize");
}

function OnEvent_Uninitialize(MessengerExit)
{
    Debug.Trace("Trace OnEvent_Uninitialize");
}

function OnGetScriptMenu(Location) {
    Debug.Trace("Trace OnGetScriptMenu");
    var ScriptMenu ="<ScriptMenu>";
    ScriptMenu +="<MenuEntry Id=\"testMenu\">Test Manu Item</MenuEntry>";
    ScriptMenu +="</ScriptMenu>";
    return ScriptMenu;
}

function OnEvent_MenuClicked(MenuId, Location, Wnd) {
    Debug.Trace("Trace OnEvent_MenuClicked");
}

and seems Plus doesn't call OnGetScriptMenu :(

I tried with 2 machines - my Win 7 with Live Messenger 15 and and fresh install of Live messenger 14 on XP.
both with Plus 5.10.0.750

I doesn't seen any new menu items...
01-13-2012 01:37 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
Does the script trace anything when the event is supposed to trigger? If not, there's probably an error I've not noticed. If it does and the menu doesn't show, it could be a bug
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
01-13-2012 08:25 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
matty
Scripting Guru
*****


Posts: 8336
Reputation: 109
39 / Male / Flag
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
I agree with Spunky. Enable Script Debugging (In the Developer Tools section of the scripts window in the preferences) this will show you any errors relating to the script. Post them here and we can help further. As it stands you have no errors in your code from what I can see.
01-13-2012 01:39 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Guffy
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
O.P. RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
thanks guys for reply
yes, seems script itself is ok
when I save the script - editor show messagebox with Saved sucessfully
and trace log is
code:
Function called: OnEvent_Uninitialize
Trace OnEvent_Uninitialize
Script has been stopped
Script is starting
Script is now loaded and ready
Function called: OnEvent_Initialize
Trace OnEvent_Initialize




apropos, seems feature of Plus Event Notification doesn't work too. for the event Started a new chat. I added it for all contaccts and and tray popup doesn't shown when friend begun chat with me. we both tried this feature and hasn't success.

This post was edited on 01-13-2012 at 06:29 PM by Guffy.
01-13-2012 06:16 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Mnjul
forum super mod
******

Avatar
plz wub me

Posts: 5396
Reputation: 58
– / Other / Flag
Joined: Nov 2002
Status: Away
RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
Would you mind attaching the whole script file?
01-13-2012 06:55 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
If possible, do as Mnjul asks, but at the same time, do you have any other add-ons installed for Messenger? I seem to remember seeing this problem before
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
01-13-2012 07:25 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Guffy
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
O.P. RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
It's whole script file.
No, I have only Messenger Plus.
and I tried on clean XP virtual machine too. I installed live messenger and then plus 5.10

This post was edited on 01-13-2012 at 07:28 PM by Guffy.
01-13-2012 07:26 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Spunky
Former Super Mod
*****

Avatar

Posts: 3658
Reputation: 61
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
The fragment of code works here fine.

It doesn't matter if it's a whole file, but it may be something else that's preventing it from showing.

If you aren't comfortable posting the code in public, you can send me a private message with the code between code tags and I'll take a look
<Eljay> "Problems encountered: shit blew up" :zippy:
01-13-2012 07:32 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Guffy
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
O.P. RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
Sorry, guys. I it's my epic fail...
I expected that new menu items added to common Plus menu.
I never used plugins of Plus before and dosn't know the fact that plugins add menu items to separate toolbar icon.
the years of programming doesn't garanty from stupid faults ;)
01-13-2012 07:34 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Guffy
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Jan 2012
O.P. RE: OnGetScriptMenu doesn't work
Thanks for help anyway!
01-13-2012 07:35 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (2): « First [ 1 ] 2 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On