What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)

Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Author: Message:
bleezer
New Member
*


Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2006
O.P. Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Hi guys..
i scripted a tool that sets my status to IDLE (NOT away) but it doesn't work. It just does nothing. Here it is:

code:
function OnEvent_Initialize(MessengerStart)
{
}

function OnGetScriptMenu(Location)
{
    var ScriptMenu = "<ScriptMenu>";
       ScriptMenu    +=  "<MenuEntry Id=\"StatusIdle\">";
       ScriptMenu    +=    "Set Status Idle";
       ScriptMenu    +=  "</MenuEntry>";
    ScriptMenu    += "</ScriptMenu>";
    return ScriptMenu;
}

function OnEvent_MenuClicked(MenuItemId,Location,OriginWnd)
{
    switch(MenuItemId) {
        case "StatusIdle": 
            SetStatusIdle();
        break;
    }
}

function SetStatusIdle()
{
    Messenger.MyStatus = "6";    //6 = Idle
}

function OnEvent_Uninitialize(MessengerExit)
{
}

I scripted this because my Live Messenger doesn't set my status to Idle after x minutes (although  this function is activated)..
Thanks for your help..
08-18-2006 10:06 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
KnRd_WC
Junior Member
**

Avatar
Florian PAQUET

Posts: 74
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Hi bleezer ! :D

I'm not sure of that, but I think that you can't set your status on "Idle" with Messenger.MyStatus... I've tried your script with other status, and  it goes...

Example :

code:
Messenger.MyStatus = "6";

function OnEvent_MyStatusChange(NewStatus) {
    if (NewStatus==6) {
        MsgPlus.DisplayToast("Status","IDLE");
    }
}


With this code, there is no notification.

code:
Messenger.MyStatus = "5";

function OnEvent_MyStatusChange(NewStatus) {
    if (NewStatus==5) {
        MsgPlus.DisplayToast("Status","BE RIGHT BACK");
    }
}


With this one, there is the notification.

:(

(Sorry for my English, I'm French ;))
08-18-2006 10:33 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Silentdragon
Full Member
***

Avatar
if(life==null && wrists) EmoAlert();

Posts: 148
Reputation: 2
34 / Male / –
Joined: Jun 2006
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
http://shoutbox.menthix.net/showthread.php?tid=64...d=712291#pid712291

Cookie does a good job of explaining what would need to be done to do this.
08-18-2006 10:46 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Web Find Quote Report
Kutar
New Member
*


Posts: 13
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Hello!

I think who requests the script like this, they want the script is : Idle anytime.

Silentdragon's link is only idle on signin. But not anytime.

My English is poor, Sorry. Because I am Chinese.

08-19-2006 11:06 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
quote:
Originally posted by bleezer
I scripted this because my Live Messenger doesn't set my status to Idle after x minutes (although  this function is activated).
If it doesn't set your status to idle after x minutes you either:
1) did not activated it properly in the Messenger preferences
2) moved your mouse or pressed your keyboard. Thus you aren't in idle mode anymore and thus MEssenger will set your status to online again.


quote:
Originally posted by Kutar
I think who requests the script like this, they want the script is : Idle anytime.

Silentdragon's link is only idle on signin. But not anytime.
The link posted is exactly about the same issue: setting your status on demand to idle.

quote:
Originally posted by KnRd_WC
code:
Messenger.MyStatus = "6";
With this code, there is no notification;

1) the mystatus property expects a number, not a string.
2) even if you set it to 6 (the number), you wont recieve a notification because you can not set the messenger status to idle like that. You can retrieve the current status if it is idle, but you can not set it to idle.

Please see the link Silentdragon posted:
CookieRevised's reply to "[REQUEST]Idle lies".

This post was edited on 08-19-2006 at 07:24 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
08-19-2006 12:12 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
KnRd_WC
Junior Member
**

Avatar
Florian PAQUET

Posts: 74
Reputation: 1
35 / Male / Flag
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Hi !

quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised

1) the mystatus property expects a number, not a string.
2) even if you set it to 6 (the number), you wont recieve a notification because you can not set the messenger status to idle like that. You can retrieve the current status if it is idle, but you can not set it to idle.


1) I also thought that before test it in a script. Try, you will see !
code:
Messenger.MyStatus = "3";


2) That's what I already said...
quote:
Originally posted by KnRd_WC

I think that you can't set your status on "Idle" with Messenger.MyStatus


:D

This post was edited on 08-19-2006 at 12:22 PM by KnRd_WC.
08-19-2006 12:19 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
The reason why Messenger.MyStatus = "3" works (but why it is not correct to do so) is because JScript automatically converts the string to a number. Mystatus needs a number, not a string.

This post was edited on 08-19-2006 at 12:52 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
08-19-2006 12:51 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Kutar
New Member
*


Posts: 13
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: RE: RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
quote:
Originally posted by CookieRevised
quote:
Originally posted by Kutar
I think who requests the script like this, they want the script is : Idle anytime.

Silentdragon's link is only idle on signin. But not anytime.
The link posted is exactly about the same issue: setting your status on demand to idle.

Maybe I have to correct my words

I think who requests the script like this, they want the script is : Idle anytime when they wanted.

The link is only idle when they signin.
After they set to online, they cannot set it back to idle again.
SignIn again that works. But the contacts maybe know that you are telling lies.
08-19-2006 01:03 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member
*****

Avatar

Posts: 15519
Reputation: 173
– / Male / Flag
Joined: Jul 2003
Status: Away
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Which is exactly what has been explained in that thread which is linked to (it is not about changing to idle only when you sign in) and which is exactly the same as requested in this thread.

This post was edited on 08-19-2006 at 01:27 PM by CookieRevised.
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
08-19-2006 01:26 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Kutar
New Member
*


Posts: 13
Joined: Aug 2006
RE: Need help, Set status to Idle (NOT away)
Maybe I don't know how to use the script. Can you help me?
Because I can only idle when I signin
08-19-2006 01:29 PM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
Pages: (3): « First [ 1 ] 2 3 » Last »
« Next Oldest Return to Top Next Newest »


Threaded Mode | Linear Mode
View a Printable Version
Send this Thread to a Friend
Subscribe | Add to Favorites
Rate This Thread:

Forum Jump:

Forum Rules:
You cannot post new threads
You cannot post replies
You cannot post attachments
You can edit your posts
HTML is Off
myCode is On
Smilies are On
[img] Code is On