Shoutbox

WLM On vista startup - Printable Version

-Shoutbox (https://shoutbox.menthix.net)
+-- Forum: MsgHelp Archive (/forumdisplay.php?fid=58)
+--- Forum: Skype & Technology (/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+---- Forum: Skype & Live Messenger (/forumdisplay.php?fid=10)
+----- Thread: WLM On vista startup (/showthread.php?tid=77537)

WLM On vista startup by mgsray on 09-16-2007 at 08:47 PM

Hi i'm new to this but i'll give it a go...
I'm currently running Vista on an acer laptop and i am unable to run WLM 8.1, I have downloaded the patch that was suggested from the acer website and it is still not working any and all ideas are gratefully recieved

RE: WLM On vista startup by Chris4 on 09-16-2007 at 09:23 PM

So, you've installed it fine? What happens when you try to run WLM? Nothing happen?

RE: WLM On vista startup by mgsray on 09-17-2007 at 02:41 PM

Yeah thats pretty much it i'm out of idea's

RE: WLM On vista startup by YourNeibour on 09-17-2007 at 07:21 PM

Try upgrading to version 8.5 of WLM apparently they have fixed alot of vista problems with this version

RE: WLM On vista startup by djdannyp on 09-18-2007 at 12:12 AM

My brother had this same problem with his new laptop.....there is a compatability issue between WLM and some pre-loaded Acer software

Once you remove the software (found under Add/Remove Programs) the issue goes away and WLM 8.1 or 8.5 will run fine

RE: WLM On vista startup by Nagamasa on 09-18-2007 at 02:56 AM

quote:
Originally posted by djdannyp
Once you remove the software (found under Add/Remove Programs) the issue goes away and WLM 8.1 or 8.5 will run fine
Imo, you shouldn't really be removing factory-defaults because they usually have some significant importance. Try re-downloading and re-installing the patch, as I am typing this message on a [fairly]new Acer laptop, which I did also need to patch.

Note that I am using WLM 2007, and I don't quite remember what happened with 8.1.