What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » Scripting » / commands

/ commands
Author: Message:
JANiT0R

32 / Male / –
O.P. / commands
i'm working on a script, i've never done anything like this before.
how do i make it so that if i put "/command" and then my message, the script will take effect?
any help is appreciated.
02-04-2007 05:17 PM
Profile PM Web Find Quote Report
Matti
Elite Member

Script Developer and Helper

31 / Male / Flag
RE: / commands
Aaah... here's where regular expressions can help. :-)

I'll try to simplify it for you, since I guess you've never worked with those.
code:
var myCommand = "myscriptcmd"; //This is the name of your command! Please don't use any special characters to avoid problems with the regular expression
var myCommandDesc = "My first script command!"; //Here you can add a description for your command which will be shown in the shortcut menu when you press "/"

//Register our command
function OnGetScriptCommands() {
   var s = "<ScriptCommands>";
   s += "<Command>";
   s += "<Name>"+myCommand+"</Name>";
   s += "<Description>"+myCommandDesc+"</Description>";
   s += "<Parameters>&lt;message&gt;</Parameters>";
   s += "</Command>";
   s += "</ScriptCommands>";
   return s;
}

//The send event!
function OnEvent_ChatWndSendMessage(ChatWnd, Message) {
   var reCheck = MakeRegExp(myCommand); //Get a regular expression
   if(reCheck.test(Message)) { //Checks if the message is our command
      var Param = RegExp.$1; //This thing is where the captured parameter is stored
      Message = MyFunction(Param); //Change this to your function name, and eventually add other parameters to it.
   }
   return Message;
}

//A simple function to create a regular expression
function MakeRegExp(str) {
   return new RegExp("/^\/"+str+"\s(.+)$", "i");
}