What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Messenger Plus! for Live Messenger » WLM Plus! Help » encrypting logs

encrypting logs
Author: Message:
surfguy17

O.P. encrypting logs
i have edited the msn convo logs that plus makes and when i try and access it, it says that the file hasn't been encrypted by Messenger Plus or the file is corrupt but i am able to open it with notepad so i was wondering how would i encrypt the file so that msg plus would recognize it im a novice when it comes to computers so the more help the better.

Jamil
03-30-2006 01:55 AM
Profile E-Mail PM Find Quote Report
CookieRevised
Elite Member

– / Male / Flag
RE: encrypting logs
You can't edit the encrypted log files, simply as that.

I wonder though what you exactly edited, as the encrypted logs show nothing more than garbage in notepad. (Also note that encrypted log files are not text files you could edit in notepad; even simply opening them and saving them again without altering anything will render them corrupt because they are binary files.)

;)
.-= A 'frrrrrrrituurrr' for Wacky =-.
03-30-2006 11:00 AM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
surfguy17

O.P. RE: encrypting logs
i dunno cuz all i do is go to the log right click it and then go to open with and then to notepad and it opens fine
04-01-2006 04:22 AM
CookieRevised
Elite Member

– / Male / Flag
All possbile files on your computer can be opened fine though. It is what you mean by "fine". If "fine" means they simply open, then yes, every possible file can be openend.

If by "fine" you mean that you can see human readable text when you open a Messenger Plus! log, then that log was not encrypted. Because if it was encrypted (file with a .ple extension) you would see stuff like this:
quote:
MPLE1<<   #^t] ;!)ݯ_K2.[9XBEAd֝~$r ,:oUȮOwݲ\PR{m(    Np'WwxeOn[Iz$ǩ\u,+ wT8?m2ÌAc|s|"˄abW$:*c=G{r$~ÔD%l_~QdAZ: f?[G