displaying pics that are not local, can it be done? |
Author: |
Message: |
Sharkadder
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
|
O.P. RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
the URL is the same one as my signature on here.
i've figured out what doesn't work, it's the time feature, if you specify it to update every 10 minutes and sometimes it takes 20minues, i'm not sure but it could be the image i had doesn't update on time.
http://embedded-uptime-project.com/imgout.php?id=1036&dev=1271&bg=1
(dont worry it still works without the picture extension).
i put it to update every 1minutes which probably wont happen because i think the minimum is 5.
Still says the time it said 10minutes ago.
EDIT
i can live with these problems but i found something else, it resets when you shut msn down, is the no way of storing the info so next time you run msn you dont have to type the link in again?
shouldn't be too hard to do, then once that is done i will be very happy with this script
This post was edited on 01-20-2008 at 12:46 PM by Sharkadder.
|
|
01-20-2008 12:43 AM |
|
|
Jesus
Scripting Contest Winner
Koffie, my cat ;)
Posts: 623 Reputation: 15
38 / /
Joined: Jul 2005
|
RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
quote: Originally posted by Sharkadder
i've figured out what doesn't work, it's the time feature, if you specify it to update every 10 minutes and sometimes it takes 20minues, i'm not sure but it could be the image i had doesn't update on time.
i put it to update every 1minutes which probably wont happen because i think the minimum is 5.
Still says the time it said 10minutes ago.
are you sure the image on the server is updated that often?
I'll double check the timer tonight.
quote: i can live with these problems but i found something else, it resets when you shut msn down, is the no way of storing the info so next time you run msn you dont have to type the link in again?
I can indeed confirm that, will look into it tonight.
There is some code to save and restore the settings, but it doesn't work as it should, at least not yet.
Man is least himself when he is in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth. (Oscar Wilde)
|
|
01-20-2008 02:29 PM |
|
|
Sharkadder
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
|
O.P. RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
thanks dude, once you got the storing working it will do.
yeah the image updates every 10minutes, ive even been to the link where the image has been stored and the one on msn is sometimes 20minutes behind, sometimes it upfdates every 30mins but i'm not too bothered about that.
just the save settings i'm really bothered about now.
|
|
01-20-2008 05:23 PM |
|
|
Volv
Skinning Contest Winner
Posts: 1233 Reputation: 31
35 / /
Joined: Oct 2004
|
RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
The problem with updating probably has to do with caching of the file which is being downloaded. A common work-around for this problem in MsgPlus scripts is to just append a random string/number at the end of the URL each time something is retrieved from it.
eg.
code: var randomNum = Math.random() * 100;
MsgPlus.DownloadFile(url + "?" + randomNum, MsgPlus.ScriptFilesPath + "\\DP")
This post was edited on 01-20-2008 at 05:38 PM by Volv.
|
|
01-20-2008 05:38 PM |
|
|
matty
Scripting Guru
Posts: 8328 Reputation: 109
39 / /
Joined: Dec 2002
Status: Away
|
RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
quote: Originally posted by Volv
The problem with updating probably has to do with caching of the file which is being downloaded. A common work-around for this problem in MsgPlus scripts is to just append a random string/number at the end of the URL each time something is retrieved from it.
eg.
code: var randomNum = Math.random() * 100;
MsgPlus.DownloadFile(url + "?" + randomNum, MsgPlus.ScriptFilesPath + "\\DP")
You don't want to append a random number to the url because it will fill up the users cache. Better bet is to clear the cache for the url using this code
code: Interop.Call('wininet.dll', 'DeleteUrlCacheEntryW', www.someurl.com);
|
|
01-20-2008 06:06 PM |
|
|
vaccination
Veteran Member
Posts: 2511 Reputation: 43
33 / / –
Joined: Apr 2005
|
RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
fatfreechicken made a script to do this, but didn't want to release, so here it is
screenshot:
Attachment: DpFromUrl.plsc (32.14 KB)
This file has been downloaded 98 time(s).
This post was edited on 01-20-2008 at 07:22 PM by vaccination.
|
|
01-20-2008 07:17 PM |
|
|
Jesus
Scripting Contest Winner
Koffie, my cat ;)
Posts: 623 Reputation: 15
38 / /
Joined: Jul 2005
|
RE: RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
quote: Originally posted by vaccination
fatfreechicken made a script to do this, but didn't want to release, so here it is
lol couldn't you have posted that like 4-5 days earlier
ah well, choice ain't a bad thing to have for users
anyway, I just updated the script.
It now restores the settings correctly (the saving worked fine already).
I double checked the timer, but found no problems with that.
Also, I added the cache clearing matty suggested. (tnx matty )
have fun and let me know if you're experiencing any problems.
Attachment: WebDPv0.3.plsc (4.73 KB)
This file has been downloaded 147 time(s).
This post was edited on 01-20-2008 at 09:44 PM by Jesus.
Man is least himself when he is in his own person. Give him a mask and he will tell you the truth. (Oscar Wilde)
|
|
01-20-2008 09:40 PM |
|
|
vaccination
Veteran Member
Posts: 2511 Reputation: 43
33 / / –
Joined: Apr 2005
|
RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
quote: Originally posted by Jesus
quote: Originally posted by vaccination
fatfreechicken made a script to do this, but didn't want to release, so here it is
lol couldn't you have posted that like 4-5 days earlier
I woulda done if ffc didn't fuss over it being perfect : <
|
|
01-20-2008 09:47 PM |
|
|
Sharkadder
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Nov 2007
|
O.P. RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
cheers kids!, does that one of vaccination not overload the cache either?
if not i can always have a backup, and it would of been good practise for you making the script so its not a waste, i can use both .
legend
This post was edited on 01-20-2008 at 10:16 PM by Sharkadder.
|
|
01-20-2008 10:12 PM |
|
|
vaccination
Veteran Member
Posts: 2511 Reputation: 43
33 / / –
Joined: Apr 2005
|
RE: displaying pics that are not local, can it be done?
quote: Originally posted by Sharkadder
cheers kids!, does that one of vaccination not overload the cache either?
Shouldn't do
|
|
01-20-2008 10:26 PM |
|
|
Pages: (2):
« First
«
1
[ 2 ]
Last »
|
|