What happened to the Messenger Plus! forums on msghelp.net?
Shoutbox » MsgHelp Archive » Skype & Technology » Tech Talk » VB Runtime in my programs Installer?

VB Runtime in my programs Installer?
Author: Message:
Salem

37 / Male / Flag
O.P. VB Runtime in my programs Installer?
Hi

Can anyone help me. I'm busy writing programs using Visual Basic 6, and use InstallShield (the one that come with Borland Delhpi 6). I would like to know if i can somehow include the Visual Basic runtime files in the installer, then the users will not need to download the runtime files.

Also, i want to add settings to my programs, But need help on how to get my program to remember the settings the next time it opens, i'm a beginner at programming. I know you can use the registry for this, but can someone give me hel on how to do this?

Thanx in advance

RileyM
[Image: salem874.smart.jpg][Image: card.png]
Was i Helpful?[/url]
09-08-2004 05:21 PM
Profile PM Find Quote Report
Choli
Elite Member

Choli

42 / Male / Flag
RE: VB Runtime in my programs Installer?
quote:
Originally posted by RileyM
I would like to know if i can somehow include the Visual Basic runtime files in the installer, then the users will not need to download the runtime files.
you can include the installation package of the vb runtime files (that you can gt somewhere in microsoft.com) but I wouldn't do that, because it'd be more than 1 MB in the setup package.

The other thing you can do is use a wizard that comes with VB that create installation packages. In spansish its name is "asistente para el empaquetado y distribucion" or somethign similar. I don't know its english name.